Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

muffinman

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 1, 2005
San Diego, California
Do you guys commute to work or school by anything other than a car? Do you like commuting that way? Do you do it out of necessity or just to be "different?"

iRachel

macrumors 6502a
I was a commuter student as an undergrad and I took the train and the "El." I preferred it to driving because Chicago traffic is terrible, and also, I could sit on the train and study, which I obviously couldn't do if I were trying to concentrate on driving.

Felldownthewell

macrumors 65816
Feb 10, 2006
Portland
I live out in suburbia, so I take the MAX (Portland's lightrail train system) into downtown where I go to school. Since I don't have my liscence yet (1 more month!) I take the streetcar (in-town lightrail) or the bus or walk. I love it, walking 20+ blocks a day has gotten me into better shape, and I know all of Portland really well.

Even when I can drive, I don't think I will, it is only 15 minutes on the MAX, and I have a PSP so I don't have to pay attention to fat drooling guy or my stalker, who somehow manages to be on every train that I am, and gets off at every stop I get off at, even if I get off at different stops!

zach

macrumors 65816
Feb 14, 2003
Medford
i walk to my high school.. i'm about a 10 minute walk away, and it wakes me up nicely in the morning ;)

latergator116

macrumors 68000
Sep 30, 2003
Providence, RI
I walk to school most days (about a 10-15 minute walk), but sometimes I'll take my bike if it's not too cold out.

I have to be careful with the bike though, since there is a lot of glass and sharp objects on the roads and sidewalks around here (I already got 3 flat tires this year). There is also a road near my house that has a section of cobblestones (and potholes), so I definately avoid that when I'm riding.

superbovine

macrumors 68030
Nov 7, 2003
muffinman said: