Compareing G3s to G4s

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Ecodisk, Dec 6, 2005.

  1. Ecodisk macrumors member

    Ecodisk

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #1
    How does a 500mhz G4 compare to a 1ghz G3 performance wise? When I was looking here I noticed they cost about the same.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    You, WANT AltiVec. G4 all the way, unless you're running applications that don't support AltiVec.
     
  3. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #3
    all depends on what you want to do , if it's a dual G4 then you might have a better time in some Apps but V's a 1Ghz single G3 there is not that much to say

    1ghz is faster -
     
  4. Ecodisk thread starter macrumors member

    Ecodisk

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  6. Ecodisk thread starter macrumors member

    Ecodisk

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Is this a good cpu because I'm willing to get a sawtooth instead of a yosemite.
     
  7. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #7
    if i had a choice between g4 500mhz or g3 1ghz then i would have the g3


    edity: this looks tasty OWC Mercury Extreme G4/1.467-1.5GHz 2MB L3 Cache for PowerMac G4 AGP
     
  8. Morn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    #8
    In the vast majority of tasks altivec is not going to make up for 500mhz. Though, make note of the fact that the G3 had a very week FPU, and at 1ghz would properly perform like a 500mhz G4 for media tasks. But I doubt much slower. So the G3 is really a better deal, in some things it will be sigificantly faster because the G3 did have a strong ALU.
     

Share This Page