comparing FB-DIMMs

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by zoran, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. zoran macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    Please note: Apple created a more robust thermal specification for the mac pro FB-DIMM heat sinks that provide more efficient cooling than many other FB-DIMMs. These FB-DIMMs require less airflow to stay cool and allow the internal fans to spin at slower speeds, improving system acoustics. FB-DIMMs made by other manufacturers that do not include a sufficient heat sink may cause the fans to run faster (and louder) or the memory chips to run slower so as not to overheat.

    Is this true regarding the FB-DIMMs Apple creates compared to other manufacturers? Has anyone tested the two?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Basically yes. When the machine first came out some FB-DIMMs were shown to not work or reduce performance under load conditions.

    Anything certified to work is fine though. Crucial and others have released FB-DIMMs with the required heat sinks which work fine.
     
  3. zoran thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    Can someone name the certified brands? Are they mutch cheeper than Apples FB-DIMMS?
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Depends where you live as to what is available. In the UK the only ones I am aware of are from Crucial. And yes, they are much cheaper than Apple, but they are still much more expensive than "normal" RAM.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Don't compare FB-DIMMs, compare sellers.

    Look for a reputable seller, who knows Macs and offers guaranteed compatibility with the MacPro, a lifetime warranty and a no cost return if they don't work.

    In the USA, MR readers most often recommend Crucial, OWC and Data Memory Systems.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  6. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #6
    canadaRAM is correct. A good reseller will not sell any RAM that they think will not work right.


    A few months ago when I first added RAM to my Mac Pro I went to the Apple Store. At that time any RAM that was garrentied to complie with Apple spec was as expencive for more then Apple. A few weeks ago I realized that I coould use some more RAM. Now rules to quilify RAM to Apple spec's was revised. Making it easier for a company to make RAM that will work well in the Mac Pro. The first Apple specification was not very specific.



    I went to OWC and bought 2GB of RAM. I got the exact RAM modules used by Apple and heat sinks that complied with Apple.(and they looked quite similar) I decided to go for this when I noticed



    A) Lifetime warrenty on the RAM

    B) 14 day return if your not happy with the RAM

    So I was able to plug the RAM in and monitor the temp of the RAM bay and know that if I did not like the heat increase I could send the RAM back for a full refund.


    I only had a 10 degree increase on temp that I can atest to just having 2 more sticks in the computer.....:D


    EDIT: btw I only spent $370 on the RAM....
     
  7. TheFuzz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Location:
    LA
    #7
    i got 4 of these and they have been working great. they run a little warmer than the 4x512mb apple sticks i got with the computer but no problems.
     
  8. zoran thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    How could you monitor the temp of the RAM bay? And whats the highest level it must not reach?
     
  9. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #9

    via the coolest widget in the world.:D

    iStat Pro
    http://www.apple.com/downloads/dashboard/status/istatpro.html

    And as for the highest temp for the RAM to run at I myself do not know. I have been just basing it off how fast my fans are running
     

Share This Page