Compatiable?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by boxerchip, Sep 1, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    Ok seing as ive got no idea what im talking about at all here... what works with PCs and macs as far as hardware?

    Video cards?
    sound cards?
    lan cards?
    anything but ram and HDD?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    Video Cards generally don't (could change now that Apple is giving up ADC)
    Some sound cards are
    Some NIC's are
    SCSI/USB/Firewire/ATA cards - most are

    How's that?
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    vraxtus

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3

    :D

    HDs are cross platform compatible as long as the interface is correct (IDE or SATA)

    Some video cards can be flashed to be Mac compatible, but there are at times voltage incompatibilities.

    RAM is sometimes cross compatible... not usually though.

    I don't know much about sound cards.

    Macs have built in Ethernet so there's no need for a "LAN" card.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    I know macs come with CRAAAAAAAPPPY sound... what sound cards are good for macs? can i just use my creative audigy ?
     
  5. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    You know this how? My Mac shipped with standard optical output. It certainly sounds great through my Logitech 5.1 speaker system.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    but i dont have optical sound... ive got the normal jacks... and untill I get a new system its gona be that way. so can i convert? or what? because as of now ive got 2 plugs that go into my sound card but the G5 only has one for head phones.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #7
    Macs use the exact same RAM as PC's :rolleyes: .
     

Share This Page