Compatibility between G5 and Macbook

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Bob Jovi, Feb 13, 2007.

  1. Bob Jovi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I'm pretty set on getting a macbook soon and was wondering if there would be any issues with the G5. As I plan to do some editing on it in Final Cut and then transfer it over to my powermac to finish it off and do the Motion elements.
    Editing it in the universal version of FC then transferring it to the PPC version won't be a problem will it???
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    No, editing documents / graphic files / video files / music files is never a problem going back and forth between Intel and PPC Macs. You won't even notice that anything is different.
     
  3. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #3
    Universal FCP files don't work with the old PPC 5.1 version of Final cut.

    Just make sure the Macbook and G5 have the latest 5.1.2 universal version on them and it should work fine.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Aaah, oops, really? That's interesting. So they made a file format change when they went universal? That's the first time I've heard of something like that. Sorry.
     
  5. Bob Jovi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    London
  6. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #6
    You mean version 5.0 (PPC)...

    But yes, you need to have the same version running on both machines. This sucks for me because I can't use the broadcast monitors at my school for CC because they are still running 5.0...
     
  7. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #7
    Hmmm i thought the last downloadable update was 5.1 for PPC, and thats where the universal started. Thats why i was so confused why they couldn't communicate.
     
  8. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #8
    Could you not export as xml or edl and reconnect the media?
     
  9. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    He could use an XML (I don't recommend messing w/an EDL unless you absolutely have to).


    Lethal
     
  10. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #10
    Nope, last PPC only version was 5.0.4, I believe... 5.1 was the first Universal
     
  11. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #11
    Oh.. I'm so very confused. I could have sworn we had two machines with the same version of the software but one was PPC and one was universal.

    Maybe i'm thinking it was same version of the OS:confused:
     
  12. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    You can run the Universal Version (5.1) on a PPC or Intel Mac, but the PPC version of FCP (5.0 and older) won't run on an Intel Mac.


    Lethal
     
  13. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #13
    Universal is universal because it runs of both PPC and Intel Macs ;)
     
  14. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #14
    Yes i know that. What i meant was one was installed off a PPC only disc and the other was off the universal disc and that they had the same version number.
     

Share This Page