:( complete programming noob! (C++)

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by gmcguinn, Jan 20, 2011.

1. macrumors newbie

gmcguinn

Hey guys,

Well from what you can see in the title I am completely new to C++ programming. I have just started it in college and am really enjoying it.
    However I wanted to set up all the software on my MBP so that I could work on it.

In college we write the code on a program called Smultron, save it as a .cpp file and then go to terminal to run it.

Now here comes my problem.... I have downloaded Smultron for my laptop and I have written a quick "ºC -> ºF conversion program". When I try to set that up in Terminal by using the command that we were told to use ("make program1") I get this error message in return...

"make: *** No rule to make target `practical1'. Stop."

This error doesn't come up in college. What I get in college is something like "g++ ........." and then I put in something like "./practical1"

As I have said before I want to try and work on my programming at home so I would love for some of your help.

Don't forget that I am a complete noob so try and keep it simple! We all start somewhere! :)

2. Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

make requires a Makefile to work. I suggest you copy the one from college.

3. Bill McEnaney, Jan 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011

macrumors 6502

You don't need the "make" command if your program is only a few lines long. If it just converts degrees fahrenheit to degrees celsius, you probably can compile it with, say, this command:
    Code:
    g++ practice1.cpp -o practice1
    . That command tells the computer to compile your program with the C++ compiler and to call the executable program "practice1." If the machine finds mistakes, typos, in your program, the machine won't create the executable program. To make it create one, you'll need to correct the mistakes and recompile the program with the command I wrote in the code box.