Complicated Networking

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Bobdude161, Mar 16, 2006.

  1. Bobdude161 macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #1
    hello again, i've finally set up the whole network today and everything is connected, this is how it looks http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e23/bobdude161/Netdiagram.jpg . both PCs recognize each other but it seems the Macs (OS 8.6) are left in the dark. on the switch there are three indicator lights: "Active/Linked", "100" and "Full/Col". PC2 is showin alll three lights, but the Macs only have the "active/linked" light on. i'm guessing this means that the Macs aren't communicating very well to the network. is there a certain setting i need to put on the TCIP control? or is this a hardware issue? i've connected them to a router for testing and they worked fine but once they were hooked up to a switch they stopped talkin.

    U may wonder why i'm usin a switch. well i have my reasons, it's a problem of patched holes and the inability to bring another cord from the router to the downstairs.

    other than that, i'm thinkin about buyin another router to replace the switch downstairs, but before i do that, is there a solution to my current situation?
     
  2. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #2
    I suspect that the macs only support 10BaseT ethernet and your switch is falling back to this speed. You would have to check the switch manual to be certain.

    Have you checked that all the machines are set to use DHCP? Or alternatively that all the machines have unique IPs if you don't want to use DHCP?
     
  3. Bobdude161 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #3
    yeah thats exactly what happened :eek: someone's givin me their router neways, but thnx for the help.
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Which model Macs are you using?
     
  5. Bobdude161 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #5
    ones a performa 5260/120 and the other Power Mac 7100
     

Share This Page