Composition Tool

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by cliffardo2001, Jan 12, 2004.

1. cliffardo2001 macrumors regular

Jun 11, 2003
    I attended the MacWorld conference and Keynote and was quite thrilled to hear about GarageBand. Like many, I was worried it was going to be a watered down version of Soundtrack which, for a musician like myself, is not a very useful creatve tool. I am new to digital music production and have only seen a demo for Logic at a convention. What I am confused about is how people can say it's not a useful tool for composition, or even go so far as to say it's a useless application? I understand that you can't import/export MIDI. However, I do know that you can input music with a MIDI keyboard or even a USB/audio interface and cut, paste, move around, change key and individual notes (at least with the MIDI), tempo, and dynamics. And I should mention that the samples sounded beautiful (I got to experiment with GarageBand at the MacWorld conference). Like I said, digital music production is very new to me so something like GarageBand is a great place to start. I gasped when Steve gave the price of iLife '04 because I was probably going to spend over 200 bucks on the Logic Audio Big Box. So, in short, GarageBand is not a useless tool; you can be creative with it, and it's a great place for novices like me to start out with (and impress the socks off of people with the samples!).
  2. jfg@forum macrumors newbie

Jan 11, 2004
    Re: Composition Tool

Everything you say is true but if you come up with something great and want to develop it in a program like Logic you cannot because there is no way to transfer it - no midi export.
  3. cliffardo2001 thread starter macrumors regular

Jun 11, 2003