computer slowdown

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by mmmdreg, Aug 6, 2002.

  1. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Ever since installing dreamweaver mx a few days ago, my computer has slown down quite a lot..like it gets the beachball more and takes longer to launch appz...ive done a fsck-y and am updating prebindings right now in case it would help...is this because of the dreamweaver install or just a coincidence? iMac 600 (G3) w/ 640MB
     
  2. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #2
    i've just installed Dreamweaver MX, but i have only used it once. you can give me advance warning if you find out what the problem is.;) :p
     
  3. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #3
    same with my computer, compared to befreo it has slowed, down alot, I have all of that unxiy stuff, wonder what it is
     
  4. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #4
    (Looks like an all-Australian thread so far :D)

    I've also just installed DW. I installed it on a clean installation of X.1.5. I've had no problems. It is likely just conincidence that your Mac slowed down around the time you installed DW.
     
  5. evildead macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #5
    DW

    I have not had any problems whith mine. OS 10.1.5 and DW MX.

    -evildead
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    Re: computer slowdown

    I would say right off that it's probably only coincidence. However, does the slowdown occur at all times or only when DreamWeaver is running or afterwards? It could be matter of a Java application or some background daemon (process) that's been turned on by default. Check your preferences for special features.

    I don't currently have any MacroMedia applications :( . I'm using Adobe GoLive 6, LiveMotion 2, etc.
     

Share This Page