Computer wont turn on

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MDodd02, Jan 30, 2006.

  1. MDodd02 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #1
    A couple of days ago there was a power outage at my house. I think my computer was in sleep mode at the time of the outage. However, it may not have even been on. It is connected to a surge protector.

    Now when I push the power button the light comes on, but the computer doesn't turn on. Usually there is a click, then the computer powers on. Now there is no click and lots of frustration on my part. What do you think the problem is? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    1. What kind of computer is it?
    2. Have you tried plugging it into a different wall outlet altogether?
     
  3. MDodd02 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #3
    Oh, sorry. It is a G4 Desktop. I did try to plug it into another outlet in another room and it does the same thing. Everything else on the outlet still functions properly.
     
  4. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #4
    Ok, so a PowerMac then. Sounds like the power supply is blown, but then again you get a light on the front so that's rather bizarre. You could try calling an Apple Store and speak to someone at the Genius Bar and ask them.
     
  5. MDodd02 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #5
    Maybe I will do that. Where would I get a new power supply? Cost?
     
  6. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    Before you start replacing parts, there are other troubleshooting measures to perform. A corrupted Power Management Unit could certainly cause the problems you describe. Resetting the PMU is easy, just a matter of pressing a surface mount button on the logicboard.

    What G4 do you have? Speed?
     
  7. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #7
    Yeah that sounds like the PMU reset will fix it. I have heard of this before.
     
  8. MDodd02 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #8
    Sorry, I don't really know. I got it for free from my mom's work. It has a 40 GB HD, that is all I know. I am a PC guy, trying to get used to Macs
     
  9. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #9
    Go into the apple menu(top right) then go "about this mac" Click more info. Then we want the machine model and CPU speed. Also note what CPU type says(G3-G5)
     
  10. keysersoze macrumors 68000

    keysersoze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #10
    Ummm.... his computer won't turn on....... :p
     
  11. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #11
    lol....that great!:D I think that is one of the funniest things i have done in awhile....I am sorry you are probable thinking.....this guys stupid.

    Take a look at this:
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=95035
    It should be similar on your machine. Take a look around for the button.
     
  12. keysersoze macrumors 68000

    keysersoze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #12
    LOL. not stupid... we've all done it, i'm sure...:D
     
  13. MDodd02 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #13
    This is accomplished by pressing the CUDA switch right? Will this switch be clearly visible?

    I really appreciate all the help!!!!
     
  14. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #14
    I got this document from apples site. http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=95037 Be sure not to press the PMU twice or your computer may never work again. The button itself is very small. Look for a metal block on the motherboard that is about 1/4 inch by 1/4 inch this should be your PMU. If your model is a digital audio G4, I'm guessing because of the 40GB hard drive, the PMU switch is located near your battery.
     
  15. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #15
    Here I found a picture I have of my old G4. This may help. Untitled-1.jpg
     
  16. MDodd02 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #16
    Thanks, that is very helpful.
     

Share This Page