Configuring MX1000 Laser Mouse Buttonms w/ LCC..

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cubbie5150, Mar 10, 2007.

1. cubbie5150 macrumors 6502a

Hello all, I am new to the Mac world (just rec'd my MBP last Tuesday).. Loving everything so far. Anyway, I am using Logitech MX1000 laser mouse, & I'd like to configure the buttons to operate the same way as they do on my Windows machine. I googled, and finally found out how to make my scroll whell button middle-click (for opening links in new tabs in Firefox), but can anyone here help me w/ the following?

1. I'd like to make the back/foward buttons move me back & forward a page in Firefox (these buttons even work to go back/forward in Explorer windows in XP, but I'm guessing that won't work in Mac Finder windows?).

2. Can I make the middle button (between the back/forward buttons) close down the foremost window/application like I can in XP?

That's it.. I do have the OS X version of Logitech Control Center installed, but in typical Logitech fashion, the Mac version of the software doesn't seem as configurable...and I can't figure out what click/key stroke/command combinations will get me my desired result... Thanks for any tips..

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

In the LCC, click on the up/down arrows and it will give you a menu of what type of things you can do with the mouse button, such as keyboard shortcuts. (screenshot below)

Some keyboard shortcuts you could use with your mouse: (Safari at least, I don't have FireFox installed)
    Command + W = close tab
    Command + Shift + W = close window

Attached Files:

3. slicedbread macrumors regular