Confused on OS X Classic mode

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Parsa, May 13, 2003.

  1. Parsa macrumors member

    Parsa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    #1
    As someone who hasn't upgraded to an OS X machine, but will be getting one soon, I'm confused about the whole OS X Classic situation. I know that OS X originally shipped with OS 9.2, and that you used to have to boot in one or the other. Now there is a Classic Mode that lets you use (some) older applications while running OS X.(?)

    Is it neccessary to have OS 9 installed on the Mac in order to run apps in Classic mode?

    Is Classic a kind of an emulation software like VirtualPC or is it a euphemism for OS 9?

    Can the newer Macs that only boot in OSX still run older apps?

    Are there a lot of old apps that wont run in this mode?

    I got a version of Jaguar for free because I'm a teacher, and it came with OS 9.2.x, so I could always install it and upgrade to the latest version, but I'd rather just boot in one system. Having to reboot into 9 just seems dumb.

    Parsa
     
  2. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #2
    Re: Confused on OS X Classic mode

    I'll do my best...

    Is it neccessary to have OS 9 installed on the Mac in order to run apps in Classic mode?
    Yep!

    Is Classic a kind of an emulation software like VirtualPC or is it a euphemism for OS 9?
    Well, no. It's not emulation exactly, it's more like OS is being 'tunneled' through the OS X interface.

    Can the newer Macs that only boot in OSX still run older apps?
    Most of them! Some of my really old apps won't run, but that's rare.

    Are there a lot of old apps that wont run in this mode?
    Of course, but the question should be "are there a lot of apps that run in 9.2 natively but won't under Classic in OS X". The answer to that is "not many that count" thought Quark is Naaaasty!.

    I got a version of Jaguar for free because I'm a teacher, and it came with OS 9.2.x, so I could always install it and upgrade to the latest version, but I'd rather just boot in one system. Having to reboot into 9 just seems dumb.
    I haven't booted my QuickSilver in 9 for over a year. And my 12PB can't. I don't miss it anymore...
     
  3. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #3
    always search versiontracker.com to see if there are comparable pieces of software for os x to the apps that you feel you absolutely need from os 9. i never even installed os 9 on my quicksilver so i can't use classic. there are plenty of programs out there that can do the same thing as os 9 programs in os x.
     
  4. springscansing macrumors 6502a

    springscansing

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Most pro audio apps will not run in classic. I never had an issue with anything else.
     
  5. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #5
    Re: Confused on OS X Classic mode

    Just to clear one thing up. OSX has always had classic mode. It's a way of running OS9 apps without booting into OS9. You've never in OSX had to reboot into OS9 unless you came across a rare program that would not run in classic.
     
  6. Parsa thread starter macrumors member

    Parsa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    #6
    A further clarification on Classic...

    So... the newer Macs only boot in OS X, but in order to use Classic OS9 must be on the drive somewhere?

    Do the current versions of OS X still come with OS9 on the disc then?
     
  7. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #7
    Re: A further clarification on Classic...

    -Parsa

    Yes, but it's not completely obvious.
     
  8. Chimaera macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    #8
    Basically Classic mode has OS9 running in a software layer, allowing the majority of applications to run, along with most OS9 only hardware.

    To be honest though, unless you need quark its unlikely you'd need to use classic - I realised the other day that I hadn't touched classic mode in over six months, and then proceeded to delete the old system (I'm a network sysadmin at the local university, only 8 or 9 comps use OSX, but all the tools I need to administer the rest are OSX)
     
  9. amnesiac1984 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #9
    Re: Re: A further clarification on Classic...

    Yeah, my system came with jaguar install discs, OS 9 is on the second disk and is installed along with the iApps after the computer reboots and when it asks for disc 2.

    You can also install it using the software restore disc that came with my machine.
     
  10. Parsa thread starter macrumors member

    Parsa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    #10
    Thanks

    Thanks to all for the clear answers. I understand now.

    There are a few specialized programs like GPSy that are not in the native OSX stage yet, so I wanted to know this. I'm also upgrading from a clone dinosaur, and may still want to play with some of my older programs from time to time.

    Parsa
     

Share This Page