"Congratulations your iPhone has been unlocked"

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by BFW122083, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
    #1
    Hey all,

    I decided to restore my 4s this morning and set up as a new phone instead of restoring from backup like I did yesterday. When the phone finished restoring iTunes said "Congratulations your iPhone has been unlocked". I have never seen this before when doing a restore. This is a 4s on At&t. Is there any way to test if it is really unlocked without putting another carrier sim in it?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #2
    Not really. Best bet is to go to T-Mobile and buy a prepaid microsim to try.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    When you turn on your iPhone 4s if the lock icon is not there on the top were the time shows up then it's unlocked .
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #4
    That just means the screen is locked with a passcode?
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #5
    WHOA. This is huge news. There are a few threads dedicated to figuring out how to get that screen on Sprint and Verizon iPhones (here and here)...but AT&T iPhones with iTunes-unlocked SIMs are unheard of.

    I mean, we've known that some carriers do this, but to see one on AT&T is really surprising. I'm very curious as to how that happened.

    There likely is an MCC or MNC country/network lock to prevent T-Mobile SIMs but if you try a foreign SIM it should work.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
    #6
    It really surprised me. I have never been one to care much about having an unlocked phone. I just decided to do a restore and bam there it was. Should have taken a screen shot....
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #7
    According to this Apple support document, you should get the screen any time you do a restore.

    It was this I'm guessing?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
    #8
    Doesn't that article apply to unlocked phones only? Yes that was the message that came up.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #9
    Anyone else try restoring as new yet?
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #10
    Yeah...and apparently you have one :)
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    #11
    I am confused. How did you get an unlocked iphone 4s on AT&T?????

    AT&T NEVER UNLOCKS THEIR IPHONES!!
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
    #12
    I really have no idea. Part of me thinks it was some kind of glitch. The only thing I can think of is that a paid full price and didn't extend my contract. I ordered through Apple too. I wish there was a way I could confirm it, but I don't have any T Mobile or foreign sims laying around lol
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    The same thing appeared on mine when I did a restore... I am wondering if it came like this from the factory because I paid the full $849.99 for a 64 GB because my AT&T contract was not eligible for an upgrade...
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Atl
    #14
    So we are both in the same boat...I thought Apple said unlocked phones were not for sale until November? Well if we truly do have unlocked phones thats a pretty sweet bonus :)
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    England
    #15
    I don't think its that. Factory unlocked iPhones don't give any message that their unlocked at all.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    #16
    Yep, big omission in your subject line :)
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Jax
    #17
    Man if you guys got unlocked phones because you paid full price I am not going to wait till November and just buy one now.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #18
    BFW122083, did you pay full price for your iPhone, or did you get it subsidized with a contract? mjcxp mentioned paying full price, but you didn't mention that.

    I was going to wait until November, but it would be great if I could buy one at the store sooner.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Sneakz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #19
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Factory unlocked phones do give the "Congratulations, your iPhone is unlocked" message everytims you restore.
     
  20. macrumors 68040

    entatlrg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
    #20
    My factory unlocked phone shows the same.
     
  21. macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #21
    I believe since you guys paid full price. It's pretty much a factory unlocked iphone! Now I'm guessing why wait until November to get the unlocked when the full price AT&T one just does the samething! BTW AT&T iPhone and factory unlocked are the same. It just about how the iPhone IMEI is store in Apple server black or white list. :D

    ----------

    Wrong! Factory unlocked iPhones do give you that message everytime you restore, and it won't matter which sim card you have in the iPhone to activate it! However, on a locked iPhone you need the actual carrier sim card to activate the iPhone.

    ----------
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #22
    Actually, factory unlocked phones only sometimes give that message. I bought my iPhone 4 factory unlocked in Canada last year, and I've used it with 4 different carriers when traveling. However, I never see that message when I restore. The true test is to try a different carrier SIM card.
     
  23. macrumors G4

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #23
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Anyone else try this & can confirm? Just curious if this is a new policy & not a one-off "error" by iTunes.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #24
    I'll try it today and report back if my local Apple Store has any left. I'm pretty sure they have a 30 day return policy with no restocking fee in case I need to return it and get one in November.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #25
    Now I gotta try this. I paid full price too since I wasn't eligible for upgrade. I wonder if it's just the 64GB since it's new...mines the 32 GB...Restoring right now and we'll see if it works.
     

Share This Page