Connect 20" Cinema Display (ADC) to Intel iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by vd0t, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. vd0t macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #1
    I'm thinking of purchasing one of the new Intel iMacs. Very tempting!

    I'm currently using the older 20" Cinema Display which uses the ADC connection (connected to my PowerMac G5 at the moment). I want to be able to connect it to the Intel iMac when I decide to purchase it, for extended display.

    From what I understand, I would have to buy a mini-DVI to DVI adapter AND a DVI to ADC adapter (priced at $99!!). Would this setup work?
    Any issues with DVI-D and DVI-I? Not sure if this applies at all, I've just read comments with those terms being thrown around.

    Thanks!
     
  2. andysmith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    #2
    That setup will work fine :)

    DVI can carry digital signals (DVI) and analogue (VGA). DVI-D contains just digital, DVI-A just analogue, and DVI-I is both.
     
  3. mopppish macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    #3
    We have one of the old ACD's at school hooked up to our new dual G5 (DVI out). The DVI to ACD convertor works fine, but it's BIG and EXPENSIVE. Obviously cheaper than buying a new display, but it was totally disappointing for us at school to find out that after getting the computer, we had to spend another $100 just to use it!
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    There's a professor with a new Intel iMac that didn't want to hack his 20" Rev. A. He bought the new Intel iMac and has the DVI to ADC adapter. (DVI-in, power, & USB)

    He mostly complains of fan issues and even bought a Dell 17" LCD thinking that just a direct DVI connection wouldn't cause it. He gave up on screen spanning now on his Intel iMac.

    I've used the Screen Spanning Hack on my iMac G5 and I've never had any issues.
     
  5. Caitlyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    That would be a nice setup if the DVI to ACD wasn't so big and albeit sorta ugly looking. But as said, it's cheaper than buying a new one for $799 so I guess it's worth it. Just tuck it under your desk or in the corner or something. :D
     
  6. vd0t thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #6
    @ Eidorian

    Fan issues? From the iMac or the display? Also, I didn't know you could hack the non-Intel iMacs for screen spanning.

    I had assumed that the DVI to ADC adapter would work fine if I connected to a full sized DVI port (say, on a MacBook Pro). But does having the mini-DVI to DVI adapter in between cause any issues?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    His Intel iMac would fire up the fans from cold sleep ONLY when he had his external display plugged in.

    http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page