Connect macs with Firewire?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by mmmdreg, Aug 4, 2002.

  1. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Is it possible to connect two macs with firewire just for a one-off file transfer?
     
  2. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #2
    Re: Connect macs with Firewire?

    yes, its called disk target mode. instructions here: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58583
     
  3. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #3
    I know how!

    First have one Macintosh (MAC A) on, this is the computer you want to mount the volumes of the other computer on, now connect a FireWire cable from one Mac to the other. Now with the FireWire still plugged in restart your other Macintosh (MAC B) This is the Macintosh you want to be mounted to the other Macintosh. (MAC B's volumes wil be mounted on MAC A's desktop) RIGHT AFTER you restart the Mac hold down the "T" key on your keyboard until a HUGE FireWIRE LOGO appears, it will move around from time to time and display a battery monitor if you have a iBook or PowerBook. If you are in OS 9 on MAC A all of your Mac OS 9 Desktop icons will appear on the other Mac. As for Mac OS X I'm not sure. Hope this helps! :D
     
  4. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #4
    Ah yeah, perhaps making that a bit simpler... say you want to get a file from Mac A to Mac B.

    1. Turn on A
    2. Turn off B
    3. Plug the cable in to A and B
    4. Start up A holding down 'T'

    You're done! A will have a big FireWire icon on the screen, and it's volumes will be mounted on B.

    I hope that makes it a little simpler to follow :)
     
  5. mmmdreg thread starter macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    Thanx..did you mean turn off A and turn on B?
     
  6. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #6
    thanks again!

    SEE THE PROBLEM WITH ME IS I KNOW EXACTLY WHAT TO DO BUT HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO SAY IT, :D Thanks!
     
  7. kwajo.com macrumors 6502a

    kwajo.com

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Bay of Fundy
    #7
    thanks

    I was about to post that exact question when I came across this thread, so thanks to you for doing it for me. I have a large video file to transfer from my friends mac to mine (to burn onto dvd with my superdrive) and was wondering if firewire would let me do this quickly and easily. thanks again
     
  8. Macpoops macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    OK this is real simple. Plug the firewire into each computer then pick one and restart it while holding down T. The disk wil mount on the one that is not restarted and then you can transfer files
     

Share This Page