Connect to Mac From PC (win'98)

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by patrick0brien, Jun 9, 2003.

  1. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #1
    -All

    I'm having a devil of a time connecting here.

    Here's the setup. Both machines are connected through a hub and have valid IP addresses, and Windows File sharing is active on the Mac. Also, I've enables my account to be accessed from Windows in the "accounts" preference.

    I wish to access the Mac from the PC using "Map Network Drive" coomand and I invoke it. I map the D: drive and type in the Mac's IP \\xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx\<home> and it requests a password.

    Al good so far.

    But it won't accept. I get "The password is incorrect. Try again." Any ideas?
     
  2. 3G4N macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Location:
    3rd star to the right
  3. Roger1 macrumors 65816

    Roger1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    When you login to the pc at the Windows login screen, is it the same login and password you use to access the server?

    If not, change it so they are the same, go to start/run, type in the name of the mac you are trying to access. This might work.
     
  4. andyduncan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    #4
    This is a random idea, but is your mac password longer than 8 characters? Jaguar supports long passwords but i've heard of win 9x having problems with them when trying to use samba.
     
  5. g3ski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    #5
    new user

    setup a user account on the mac with the exact same name as the windows login name.

    win98 is a bugger about this
     
  6. patrick0brien thread starter macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #6
    Re: new user

    -g3ski

    Hmm. I'll try that.

    -Roger1

    I didn't follow that, can you elaborate?
     
  7. Roger1 macrumors 65816

    Roger1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    My thought was pretty much like G3ski's. But to connect to the server try going to start/run, type //servername

    press enter. This might get you into your Apple
     
  8. patrick0brien thread starter macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #8
    Re: new user

    -g3ski

    Well, I created a user account on OS X with credentials identical to those used on the Win98 machine, as you suggest.

    And it worked by gum!

    $^%& Windows 98.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page