Connecting a 24" LED Apple Display to 08 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MythicFrost, May 7, 2010.

  1. MythicFrost
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hi,

    My dad has bought a 24" LED Apple Display to use as a secondary screen with his 2008 Mac Pro3,1.
    He called Apple before he bought it, and the guy said he needed a Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adaptor, so we have one of those... and it doesn't fit.

    Would buying a female to female Mini DisplayPort adaptor work, so we could connect the two male connectors together? If that even exists?
     
  2. spinnerlys
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
  3. MythicFrost
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Thanks -.-, at least he can get it working now.
     
  4. aaronw1986
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #4
  5. TheStrudel
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #5
    It might actually be cheaper for you to just buy an Nvidia GT120 used for its mini display port. It'll certainly work great, and have the advantage of another DVI port as well.
     
  6. aaronw1986
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #6

    Nvidia GT120can't be used in the 08 mac pro.
     
  7. PsyD4Me
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    PsyD4Me

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    under your bed
    #7
    Ya, I think you should go for the 4870
     
  8. TheStrudel
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #8
    False. It's a fast, easy install that works out of the box.
     
  9. peskaa
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    I'll second that false. I had a GT120 installed in my 2008 model, and it worked perfectly.
     
  10. MythicFrost
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
  11. ZennZero
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    London

Share This Page