Connecting a Mac to a Cisco Switch via Serial

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Sinsinnati, Oct 5, 2006.

  1. Sinsinnati macrumors regular

    Sinsinnati

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #1
    Has anyone every used a Mac to configure a Cisco Switch via the blue RJ-45 to serial cable that comes with the switch?

    Would a USB to Serial adapter work like this?

    [​IMG]

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/cu...013433-6927900?ie=UTF8&n=172282&s=electronics

    If that would work, what software do you use to configure the switch? If terminal would work, what command do I need to run. In Windows I use hyperterminal.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Sinsinnati thread starter macrumors regular

    Sinsinnati

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #2
    I take it no one has gotten this to work? Aren't there Mac admins out there that work for IT departments with Cisco switches?
     
  3. RobTuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I use my Powerbook G4 for sys admin via serial. Ive used it for servers and switches.

    I highly recommend the Keyspan USB-Serial adapter. Works like a charm and comes with Mac drivers. Ive used it with the blue Cisco cable too.

    Once installed, and hooked up to your server/switch, fire up a Terminal window, and type:

    screen /dev/cu.USBXXXXX

    (where XXXX is a string of characters specific to your serial adapter if I remember correctly)

    This will put you in a 'screen' session (think of it as a virtual terminal - check 'man screen') on your Mac using the serial port, just like hyperterminal.

    Sorry if ive not explained very well, ive not had coffee yet! PM me if you need more help.
     
  4. Mumford macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Location:
    Altadena, CA
    #4
    I use this particular adaptor from my PowerBook & MacBook Pro to connect to Ciscos or Suns or whatever. There's some quick-and-dirty docs on how to set it up here.
     
  5. Sinsinnati thread starter macrumors regular

    Sinsinnati

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #5
    You use the adapter I posted above? It is quite a bit cheaper than the Keyspan version so it is good to hear. I looked over your link and while it is nice to know that it works, it looks pretty "unmac". Is there not an application like Hyperterminal for Mac? In Linux, I used to use minicom but I noticed that Macs don't have that app.


    RobTuck, thanks for the post. I am not familar with the "screen" command. I will have to look into it.
     
  6. Mumford macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Location:
    Altadena, CA
    #6
    Yes, I use the adaptor that you have pictured above. And yes, the software mentioned on that page isn't very "Mac-ish". I've used Z-Term in the past. It's a little better, but very dated. You might try QuickTerm. I plan to.
     

Share This Page