Connecting a Panasonic camcorder and a PowerBook G4

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by ursli, Nov 1, 2004.

1. ursli macrumors newbie

Dear all

I'm afraid I'm a complete Apple newbie AND I'm in a very remote place and have no access to computer books, so I hope you can help me figure this out -it may be a very idiotic questions.

I have a PowerBook G4, 15 in, 1.33Ghz. I also have a Panasonic PV-GS15 camcorder with a DV-out port. I would like to connect the two. Can this be done?

I looked at the manuals for the camcorder and for the powerbook, and I couldn't make sense of it. Can any of you help?

Thanks very much!
    Humbly,
    Ness

2. Aldaris macrumors 65816

Aldaris

Dv Out no Firewire (Ieee 1394?)

Well first things first... the way Apple hardware (in my expeience at least) was for a computer and a digital camera to be connected via firewire, however if you lack the capabilities all is not lost... there are many third party video capture cards and with that said I most also add that quality comes with a price...

Another option would be to borrow someone elses digital camera with firewire capabilities and rig up a system like this...

Panasonic Camcorder >>> VCR >>> Digital Camera >>> Powerbook (via firewire)
    (Dv IN Firewire OUT)

Any further explaination or questions feel free to ask.

"Think different"

*** How are you enjoying your powerbook?

3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

If it's like my Panasonic the DV out == 4 pin firewire. Get a 4pin - 6pin firewire cable and away you go...

4. mslifkin macrumors regular

mslifkin