Connecting Airport Express to HiFi

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by DJC17, Jun 4, 2005.

  1. DJC17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, England
    #1
    Before I order one, how does it connect?

    I'm assuming it'll have RCA plugs that I can connect to a spare input on my amplifier?

    Is it mains powered?

    The Apple site isn't too clear with the pics :confused:
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Is it mains powered? LOL: It IS a mains plug. :D The prongs are built right into the Airport Express body...

    To hook it to a stereo you need a Mini stereo jack to 2 x RCA Male cable. You can buy this from Apple or from a local electonics seller.
     
  3. DJC17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, England
    #3
    Excellent - thanks.

    It kind of looked like that, but I could only find one prong on the pic for the electric plug, where we have 3 in the UK.

    I currently have the cable you suggest, but it's 5m long! I'll go get a shorter one :D

    Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, WiFi, wireless moosik, bluetooth printer! Wow - all I need now is wireless electricity :cool:
     
  4. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #4
    They didn't reshoot the Express for non-US markets. The one sold in the UK has a three prong plug attachment rather than the US attachment. I love Apple's power-supply system. It makes using things in different countries so much easier!
     
  5. brap macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #5
    It's a combo RCA/optical connector, so he could also use that. Works (apparently) for streaming 5.1ch DVD-Audio.
     
  6. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #6
    On the topic of Airport Express, I recently purchased and I'v been temporarily been using a $.25 Mini to RCA cable. Will switching that with a monster cable make a big difference in sound quality?
     
  7. DJC17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, England
    #7
    Ok. Having spent a great deal of time and money on HiFi - here goes..

    It really depends on your system. If you've got a budget "all in one" box with CD/Tape/Radio, budget speakers and cheapo speaker wire it will NOT make a difference. If it does, it will be so marginal you probably won't notice the difference whatsoever.

    If you've got a decent or high-end seperates system, decent interconnects, speaker wire et all, then yes, it will make a difference - but it depends whether you're an audiophile as to whether you will notice the difference a lot!
     
  8. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #8
    I wouldn't say that we have high end, but they're pretty good speakers. It's not an all in one kind of thing. I wouldn't say I'm an audiophile, but I know it could be better because the sound is 5 times better when watching a DVD(This AE is hooked up to the same speakers as my home theatre). It's only $30 so I guess I'll just buy it and see if it does make a difference.
     

Share This Page