connecting G4 to G5 via eithernet?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MACH3, May 1, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #1
    hi guys i wanted 2 know if this could be done and if so what do i have to do after i connect the wire

    i have alot of files on my G4 that i want to bring over to the new G5

    i hope someone can help
    thank you
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    It can be done, but do you have a firewire cable? It would be easier. Boot one computer while holding the "T" key. Connect them with the firewire cable. The one in "Target mode" should appear as a firewire hard drive.

    Edit: if you don't have a fireware cable, connect the two computers with the ethernet cable and manually give them IP addresses. FTP from one to the other. If you need more detail, let us know.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #3
    ohh

    ohh so have my g4 (with all my files) connected to my G5
    then turn the G5 on holding T and i'll see it as a hard drive?
    hmm i guess im going 2 have 2 go buy a firewire 6-6pin 2night
    thanx for all the help guys
    i love this site already lol
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    That would be the easiest way. Like I said, you can use the ethernet cable if you want.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    zach

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    Brighton
    #5
    Other way around. If you want the files from the G4 to go onto the G5, you need to boot the G4 while holding T, and boot the G5 normally.
     
  6. TMA
    macrumors 6502a

    TMA

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Should it not be a crossover Ethernet cable this guys needs rather than a straight Ethernet cable?

    Or have ethernet controllers advanced enough to not care any more?
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #7
    Apple has used auto-sensing ethernet cards for years now. Cross-over or standard makes no difference.
     

Share This Page