Connecting my mac to a PC

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by sambouka, Jan 6, 2003.

1. sambouka macrumors newbie

I am still a newbie on MACS. I just purchased a powerbook and have loads of mp3's and movies on my house PC. I am trying to connect to my windows pc through USB and Wireless and cant seem to figure it out. Any suggestions on how to do so?

Thanks!:)

2. TheT macrumors 6502

The easiest way would be ethernet, Mac OS X does a pretty good job in making it easy, so you should be able to access all your PC files.
    Just take a cable from your wireless setup (I believe Macs don't need special cross-over cables), that would be way easier than trying to get them to connect the wireless way.
    As far as I know, there is no USB-way... in case your PC has Firewire though, you could connect your computers with a FW cable and start up your Mac holding down the 'T' key... it will act like a FW-harddrive.
    But like I said, Ethernet will be the easiest way :) Hope this helps

3. benixau macrumors 65816

benixau

and btw, it is "i am new to the mac" not "i am new to MACS"

if you are going to be grammatically incorrect at least spell the mac rights. MAC is a netowrking thing that uniquely identifies every network port ever made.

4. TheT macrumors 6502

Dude, like this matters so much. This is just a forum, and as long as we know what the person means, it's allright. It's nice that you tell him what's right so that he can learn it, but maybe he doesn't give a **** about it :rolleyes:

5. benixau macrumors 65816

benixau

i just get frustrated with people doing that. i was only trying to inform him.

sambouka, if you dont care about the mac community, then keep it up. i just am informing you. thats all

6. TheT macrumors 6502

I can kinda understand your point... I mean, I don't get how some over 20-year-old US-citiziens don't know the difference between 'your' and 'you're'... but hey, that sorta stuff really doesn't matter IMO

7. Gringo macrumors newbie