Connecting pb to stereo?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by _pb_boi, May 23, 2004.

  1. _pb_boi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    #1
    Hey people,

    I have a bit of a dilemma. All my music is stored on my Powerbook 12in, but the separates and Wharfedales are downstairs in the lounge. How do I connect my Powerbook to the Kenwood R-SE7 amp? I've tried using a few different cables I have lying around, but none work.

    Thanks for any help!

    andy.
     
  2. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #2
  3. _pb_boi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    #3
    Thanks very much for the reply mate; hopefully, some of the local AV dealers should have a cable like that one :-D Else, I can always order online. Finally have a solution! When I said the ones I've tried don't work, I mean that when I try connecting them from the headphone in on the Powerbook to various places on the back of the amp, I get no sound. This should fix it then!

    Thanks again :-D

    andy.
     
  4. dotcomlarry macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Akron, PA
    #4
    I have a cable similar to that (much less expensive ;) ) that everytime I use it, and have to leave it somewhere overnight, I make sure that the person responsible knows that if anything happens to it, their life shall be in my hands. It is the *only* cable that I'm overly possessive about and would die if I were to ever lose it, along with the RCA->1/4 plugs i have for it. ;)
     
  5. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #5
    Have you tested the headphone jack on the PB with earphones? Where are you patching to on the amp? A tape-in or aux-in should work.
     
  6. _pb_boi thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    #6
    Hey,

    Thanks for all the replies.

    I'm patching to the aux-in, with the input on the amp set to aux. The headphones socket is fine on the pb. Ah well - the cable is the way to I guess! :-d

    andy.
     
  7. rikers_mailbox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    LA-la-land
    #7
    A bit off topic . . .

    but I wish there were a wireless way to bridge audio output to your home stereo (via airport?) . Or maybe that's what this elusive iBox is about? We haven't heard much about that lately, have we?

    -rik
     
  8. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    this is what you want
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page