connecting Sony DCR-HC26 to iMac

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by kingnorris, Jul 31, 2006.

  1. kingnorris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    #1
    I have iMac G4 and Sony DCR-HC26, also Firewire cable. Connected everything with cable, turned on iMovie and camcorder. Video plays on camcorder but doesn't appear on computer. Is there a setting I should switch the camcorder to in order to transfer?
     
  2. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #2
    First make sure your camera is set to the VTR (palyback) mode...sounds like it already is if you can see and control video on it.

    Make sure your cable is plugged into the correct port on the camera (it should be marked "DV" and be in the center of the 3 ports under the cover next to the lens) and computer and that your are not using a USB cable or plug.

    Once the cables are conncected turn on the camcorder and start up iMovie (in that order).

    If iMovie doesn't see the camera right away try unplugging the camera...trun it off and back on...leave it plugged into the computer and restart the computer.
    On the bottom left hand side of the screen there is an icon of a camera and scissors with a little slide button between them.

    click the camera. The screen should change and an import button appear above the palyer controls. (It will be grayed out if it doesn't see the camera.)


    If it sees the camera click the import button to start importing your footage right where the tape is qued up or use the Play/FF/RW/Pause buttons to que up to where you want to import from.

    At least that's how it is on Ver5 of iMovie HD. What version are you using?

    There are step by step instruction at www.apple.com/support/imovie

    Good luck. Let me know how it goes.
     
  3. aljawad macrumors regular

    aljawad

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #3
    I just got the same camera and I haven’t been able to connect it to either a MacBook running iLife 06 or a 12" PB running iMovie 04. I’ve followed the steps outlined but so far: nothing?
    :confused: Any suggestions are highly appreciated :)
     
  4. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #4
    So you've plugged in a 4-pin to 6-pin FW cable between the cam and your laptop? Started iMovie with the camcorder on and in 'VCR' mode? Clicked on the camera icon at lower left in iMovie to import?

    And still nothing? Is this right?
     
  5. aljawad macrumors regular

    aljawad

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #5
    Thanks for the reply gauchogolfer. Yes, the same happened – or didn’t happen – on both computers after these steps :rolleyes: I’ve used the computers & cable on other cameras – usually Panasonic – without a problem, iMovie just worked like a charm. I’m starting to think it might be a problemn with this particular camera :confused:
     
  6. jssf101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #6
    Hi there.

    I've had the same situatyion with DCR-HC26. Has anyone successfully made their Sony DCR-HC26 work with iMovie? If not, I'm thinking about returning it.

    Cheers

    J
     
  7. hdsalinas macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #7
    I am planning on getting an imac in december and this camera may be a perfect companion for it. I have 5 months old baby boy that is growing fast and I dont want too miss any day until december, so I might get the camera this week.

    I dont plan on doing anything pro with this camera, just the simple stuff like point, shoot, edit on the mac and burn to DVDs. (birthdays, christmas vacations ...family stuff)

    So have anyone managed to connect this camera to a mac or should I stay away form it? Also, how good is the video when you play it full screen on the mac? Also can you confirm that imovie only works with Firewire cameras?
     
  8. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #8
    thats a very odd situation considering you can view on camera....

    I just used iMovie with my Sony cam and it worked right off the bat....not sure what to tell you. I dont have any particular settings either..
     
  9. ronmagee1 macrumors newbie

    ronmagee1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Location:
    Upper Arlington, OH
    #9
    Connecting the DCR HC26

    Hello all,

    After reading all of these older threads I see that there are issues connecting this camera to iMacs. I wanted to know for those that did get it to work if you can connect the camera, via Firewire 4-6, without the battery in the camera having a charge? I am guessing it has to be charged, I just can't seem to find the adapter at the present moment!
    I will be using iLife '06 on a PPC G4 800Mhz
     
  10. ronmagee1 macrumors newbie

    ronmagee1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Location:
    Upper Arlington, OH
    #10
    Success with connecting!

    Hello everyone.

    I was able to get my Sony DCR HC26 camera to appear on iLife 06. I connected the camera (after I charged it) via the DV/Firewire cord and plugged this into the Firewire interface on the back of my G4.
    I opened iLife first, connected the camera, and when I powered the camera on and switched to Play/Edit Mode the video appeared on the screen!!

    For those who say this does not work should try out these steps, it worked for me and I am a Mac newbee.
     

Share This Page