connecting to airport express on windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by benbridle38, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I have an airport express set up which i use on my macbook when running os x, however when i run windows 7 on the same macbook, it cant connect to the airport.

    It's a first gen core duo macbook, i.e. it is 802.11g , any idea why it doesnt work?

    This is a screen shot of the error message...

    [​IMG]

    The trouble shooting does nothing.

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #2
    I'm having the same issue my friend.

    I too have that same problem, I'm currently doing my own diagnosis, rest assured you are not a lone. I will be testing the situation using other wifi equipment to determine whether it is a driver problem on windows or the actual airport router is not compatible.. Will let you know on sunday!
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Malawi
    #3
    I have the exact same MacBook (with Win7 RC1), but I don't have an Airport Express. I haven't had trouble yet connecting to different APs (Cisco, Mikrotik, Netgear, Linksys).

    What did the troubleshooter say?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #4
    I found this thread via Google, and I am having the same issue.

    Windows 7 troubleshooting doesn't offer any help at all.

    A similar problem is described here, including a solution. However, it did not work for me:

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2001403&tstart=0

    Has anyone managed to solve this yet?

    EDIT:

    Here is how I solved the problem:

    Since I didn't connect using my Macbook (that's the next step) my solution was to download these drivers and update my wifi adapter via Windows 7:

    http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic/14833-atheros-v770319-for-windows-vista-x86-x64/

    After that, the connection problems went away.

    So, amazingly stupid/silly of Windows 7 to not let the user know more details about the issue. And equally amazing that a new driver would solve it. Hope this provides a clue for someone to solve their problems as well!
     

Share This Page