Connecting wirelessly

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Astyl, Jan 7, 2006.

1. Astyl macrumors newbie

Hi,

My main machine is a G4 Powermac desktop (dual 533 Mhz) which is connected to broadband via a modem/cable on the ground floor of my house. I have an eMac (on the second floor) which I'd like to connect wirelessly to the Internet (the only Internet access point is on the ground floor) - keeping my current wired connection on my Powermac (which doesn't have an Airport card).

Is there a way I can do this? If I buy a wireless router can I access the Internet with both machines (the Powermac wired - the eMac through an Airport Extreme card?)

Would this work? Which router works best?

Thanks for any suggestions. (I'm new to this as you may have guessed!)

2. stevep macrumors 6502a

stevep

You sort of hinted at a cable broadband connection, in which case you need a Broadband Wireless Router such as a Netgear WGT624, Linksys WRT54GS or D-Link DI-624. As well as the wireless capability (for your eMac with Airport card), it has 4 10/100 ethernet ports (so you can connect the G4 with an ethernet cable).
    It's always useful to have a machine connected with an ethernet cable so you can connect to the admin setup utility of the router for setting things like security, and ESPECIALLY performing firmware upgrades (which should never be attempted over a wireless connection).
    I would go for the Netgear as they are so easy to set up - they auto detect your isp settings in about 4 mouse clicks). Linksys are also a good brand.

3. Astyl thread starter macrumors newbie

Hi stevep,

Thanks for your reply! You're right, I'm connected to Toucan broadband in the UK via a cable from an external USB modem. My machine is a graphite Powermac G4 which doesn't have an Airport card. My brother has an eMac which he wants to connect to the Internet via my broadband connection. (He would have to get an Airport Extreme card of course).