Connecting xbox to MBP

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by OrangeSliver, May 11, 2006.

  1. OrangeSliver macrumors newbie

    OrangeSliver

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    #1
    Is it possible to play on an xbox via a MBP? Currently I play my xbox on my pc using a capture card, do I need something similar for it to work on a laptop? I have an Apple DVI to Video adapter, not sure if this will help. Thanks for helping.
     
  2. XNine macrumors 68040

    XNine

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?
    #2
    Won't work. You'll need an analog/svideo converter to convert the signal to digital to play on the MBP. I think this is also why they invented TV's.
     
  3. OrangeSliver thread starter macrumors newbie

    OrangeSliver

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    #3
    where the svideo converter plug into? Yeah, but then I can watch tv and play at the same time :)
     
  4. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #4
    ( As stated in many other threads about this topic) there is no "Video Input" on any Apple laptop, or the iMacs. There are ways to get video in, but they are very expensive and have potential latency and quality problems. For the price of these units, you could buy a very good tv or an external computer monitor to plug the console directly into.
     
  5. Vaphoron macrumors 6502

    Vaphoron

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #5
    There are two products that will let you hookup your Xbox to your MacBook Pro. The EyeTV EZ ($149) and the EyeTV 250 ($199) from Elgato. The cheaper one will just let you watch video input I believe and the more expensive one will allow you to record TV and video input. I haven't used either one yet but I'm about to buy the EyeTV 250 to record TV with my new Mini.
     
  6. OrangeSliver thread starter macrumors newbie

    OrangeSliver

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    #6
    thanx for both replies, both have really helped. Sorry if these questions get asked all the time
     
  7. fowler. macrumors 6502a

    fowler.

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #7
    On a seperate note,

    How can I ftp something when an ethernet cable is running directly from my computer to xbox?

    I know how when there is a router involved, because I know exactly what the ip address is.
     

Share This Page