Considering a used iBook, need advice.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by rstroud, Mar 22, 2004.

1. rstroud macrumors regular

Hey, I'm new to macs, my friend has a 15" Powerbook and it was just beautiful. I loved the interface and everything. I currently have a Dell Inspiron 1100 with a Celeron 2.0. I alredy have a buyer for 400 bucks and I have an old computer for sale, and it's currently going for $100. So I'm looking to spend about 500-600 on one, plus I will be getting Office X.

I want the iBook for these reasons:

1. Portablity: 12" Less than 5 lbs. Dell-8.5 lbs...
    2. Batterly life: 5 vs. 2:30-3.
    3. Interface: Love the mac's interface.
    4. OSX

I realize a used iBook's battery life will be diminshed, but I will purchase a new one on apple.com if it is that bad. What would you suggest? I've been looking around on ebay. I just need it for web browsing (wireless access), note taking, word processing. I fell in love and now I can't stop thinking about it! :p

Advice?

2. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

Daveman Deluxe

I recommend checking out Apple's refurbished computers. They really are pretty good, and you can frequently get refurbished G3 iBooks down to around $700. Check them out.

3. &RU macrumors member

Try to avoid the so-called "dual USB" iBooks, my sister has one and it has been in for extensive work (ie; motherboard replacement and some other ugly sounding business). I think daveman has a good suggestion, check out refurbs -- they generally come with a warranty and have been checked out by a pro. I don't think I would personally purchase a used mobile computer unless I knew the previous owner, bad things can happen to them that may not show up cosmetically.

4. rstroud thread starter macrumors regular

It's a bit of a stretch moneywise, but I can look into it.

5. RBMaraman macrumors 65816

RBMaraman

rstroud,