Considering buying a imac

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by ThoughtKriminal, Feb 10, 2003.

1. ThoughtKriminal macrumors member

I havent used a mac since the days of appleII in school. But my pc is getting too out of date and i think its time to upgrade. Im considering getting a 1ghz g4 17" iMac.

Im very PC proficent, the operating system isnt too cumbersome or hard to mess with for me. but a more ergonomic and logical implimentation would always be nice. I am an amature artist, and that is mainly what i want my computer for. But im also a net geek and like to surf, play games, and chat. Id like to know the realistic advantages/disadvantages of buying a mac over a pc. Ive seen lots of different articles but most of them seem in one way or another aimed at either something i dont care about or as a marketing pitch.

i have a few questions:

1) i know there arent too many games for mac. I already play quake3 and warcraft3 and those are great, but are there other good games? i know i would miss counter strike and nwn.

2) do java chats run ok on mac? For istance, i use Opera as my web browser. even on a wintel machine opera doesnt want to run many chat progs. so i know java can be weird.

3)Is the quality of image editing still really that much superior to a PC?

4) is it possible to find a download for the mac version of photoshop?

5) do the advantages of a mac really outweigh the disadcantages of not having a pc?

2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

Re: Considering buying a imac

1. I don't game much so I can't help you there.
    2. I don't chat much so I can't help you there (off to a great start aren't I? ;)).
    3. IIRC Macs do have better/ more acurate color calibration than PCs, but if you are really worried about that you should be using a CRT monitor for art/graphix not an LCD.
    4. You can download PS here.
    5. It all depends on what your needs are.

Lethal

3. iShater macrumors 604

iShater