Considering buying an Imac /17" screen any advice/tips for a PC user?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Thomas Davie, Jan 20, 2004.

1. Thomas Davie macrumors 6502

Hi all. First off, a bit of background. I've been using computers since about 1975, and IBM pC's since 1981, only switching briefly to the Ma cin 1993, when in a 2 yr period, I ended up with an LC2, LC475, Powerbook 150 and a Mac Plus I somehow scrounged. I basically used the Powerbook to take class notes in a last year of a philosophy degree (this was something I wanted to do, not something that would put food on the table, I actually work as an Animal Sciences tech). After graduation in May/95, I actually sold all my Macs and started using PC's again; going through a P60, and currently using a P4, Celeron 400, AMD 2400+ notebook and a Performa 5260 (I justa ccuired that a week ago, I had swapped an extra 802.11g wireless card for it).

Anyways, I find myself in the position of wanting to waste some more money (er, rather than using it to feed the underpriveleged or something I mean, not that buying a Mac is wasting it), and have about $5000 Cdn to spend. I'm looking at buying another desktop, because I just do not need two notebooks, and so it comes down to either an eMac, iMac or G5.

Desktop space is severely limited, and I admit to being rawn towards the Imac because of it's unique shape and lcd screen. I've got a couple of questions;

1) If I max the ram out to 1 gb, how well will virtual PC perform? Not for playing games, but for general word processing, surfing the net, ripping CD's, etc?

2) I'll be plugging the iMac into a router that sits next to it (and is comtrolled by my P4), I assume this is an automatic process and the iMac can just grab the IP address from the router?