Considering "switching" but new MacBooks don't meet Vista's min. requirements?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by St. Germain, May 19, 2006.

  1. St. Germain macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #1
    I've been considering "switching" to a Mac, or at least dual booting on my laptop and keeping a PC as my desktop for gaming. However the whine and heat issues with the MBPs have quite honestly terrified me and made me wait until they've been ironed out. Then just when I was about to purchase a MB I saw that their integrated graphics card won't meet Vista's minimum requirements. That just won't do for a laptop I plan on dual-booting for 2-3 years at least. :(

    Not all Macs meet Vista requirements
    http://www.tuaw.com/2006/05/19/not-all-macs-meet-vista-requirements/
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    See post 14 from the link. It's fine for vista.

     
  3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #3
    This is how the BBC is reporting the specs.


    Minimum
    Processor: 800MHz
    System Memory: 512MB
    Graphics card: DirectX 9 capable
    Graphics Memory: --
    Free space on Hard Drive: 15GB


    Recommended
    Processor: 1GHz 32 or 64 bit
    System Memory: 1GB
    Graphics card: Runs Windows Aero
    Graphics Memory: 128mb
    Free space on Hard Drive: 15GB

    (Source: Microsoft)

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/4996998.stm

    I think some of the eyecandy features might be compromised but I would think you'll be OK.
     
  4. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    i always find if funny watching vista demo's, i tend to do the exact same things better with 10.4 while i'm watching it.
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Just does what 10.4 does but uglier :) still it's nice for windows users.
     
  6. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    Vista won't be out for another 5 yrs. By then you will have a different laptop. End of story.
     
  7. St. Germain thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #7
    A follow-up question then, how likely is it that Apple will put merom chips in both the MBs and MBPs later this summer? It seems to make sense that maybe only the MBPs will get the merom boost for a while anyway.
     
  8. asdf123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    #8
    On that post from TUAW, it says that it would be possible to upgrade the firmware on the integrated graphics to support more ram...would 64 more mb make that a huge difference? or is it that the gpu is slow to begin with?
     
  9. entropy1980 macrumors regular

    entropy1980

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Canyon Country, CA
    #9
    My understanding is that the GMA 950 was designed to meet the specs for Vista so I think it's just a matter of apple allowing it to be bumped to grab 128MB.
     
  10. bbrosemer macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #10
    Did anyone else notices IE 7 has a finder in the upper right....:)
     
  11. gog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    Jobs' kitchen cupboard.
    #11
    Given they went straight to higher-end chips for the macbook release, and there is now no low-end powerbook equivalent, I think there is every chance they will update them all at once. And they seem to be aggressively updating their chips, so I think as soon as merom comes out, all mac laptops will have them. No more waiting - this is why apple moved to intel!
     
  12. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    exactly, the difference between the MB and MBP is the gpu, apples not going to cripple the cpu on these, which is annoying i'd rather have it the other way around, but still.
     
  13. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
  14. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #14
    No, not at this rate.... :rolleyes: :)
     
  15. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    Are sure they've locked it to 64mb/80mb in windows environment, or is it simply a lockout in OS X, meaning in XP/VISTA it will if needed use more.
     
  16. Zoowatch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #16
    i think that all intel mac will be powerful enough to boot MS Vista given that it has at least 1GB RAM.

    but the biggest obstacle is the lack of support by Apple / Microsoft.... drivers etc...

    anyway, i think that Vista is highly undervalued... everyone here seems to think that it is completely inferior... but i think it might not be that bad after all... in many ways Leopard will be more user friendly and advanced than Vista, but i still think that Vista is still a respectable OS.
     
  17. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #17
    Mac laptop hardware is totally competitive with all the non-Mac laptops out there, so it's not a question of will today's Mac be able to run vista but rather will today's laptops regardless of manufacturer be able to run Vista. So what you're really wondering is should you buy any laptop at the moment or should you wait a year or two (or three or four) until laptop technology is powerful enough to satiate vista's voracious appetites.
     
  18. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    Judging by similar posts, VISTA has built in drivers for nearly everything on the current macmini and macbook.

    We should be fine.
     
  19. MacVault macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #19
    I agree, Zoowatch. I'm an OS X guy all the way, but I use XP at work (Network Administrator) and I envy or want for OS X what in XP seems to be a higher level of, or plethora of, smoothly integrated features, and a smooth and consistent, more advanced GUI. I really hope Apple gives Leapard's GUI a good overhaul.
     
  20. Mojo67821 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    #20
    Will Vista work on my MacBook pro with 1.5 gigs of ram? I'm just wondering because I don't think it has the Intel graphics card. I wasn't sure if that was required.
     
  21. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #21
    I think Microsoft's incompetence is part of their plan for world domination. If people think they can't even write an operating system, then they won't be worried about Bill et al. taking over the world!
     
  22. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #22
    From day 1, having the best operating system on the market hasn't been part of Microsoft's business model.
     
  23. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #23
    Your taking the pee right? :confused:

    YES YES YES YES YES. Vista will and does run on MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Mini and iMacs.

    If you search the web you will find people running the latest BETA on all those machines. Aero Glass and all the other shenanigans work perfectly be it with X1600 or GMA950..

    STOP FRETTING!!! :D
     
  24. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #24
    It is amazing when Vista was way back planned to be out. Way back they planned it for 2001 then it keep being re-written. pushing the dates back year after year, until now. XP was suppost to be out in the late 90s. :eek: I am not joking.:eek:
     
  25. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #25


    hahaha.

    Apple laptops come with a PG13 rating....booooooooooooo!
     

Share This Page