Constantly rebooting router

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ready2switch, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. ready2switch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #1
    Our home network uses a Belkin Wireless G Router for wireless. It was very easy to set up and has been very easy to maintain. However, over the past few months we have found that the connection isn't always working right (we're still in windows so we get the yellow triangle with ! and will have to try to "repair"). If we simply reboot the modem/router every time this happens, the connection will work correctly again almost instantly.

    We have gone from rebooting after a power loss (storms or whatever) to rebooting about once a week, to rebooting every few days. I have updated the firmware for it and it hasn't seemed to help. I have changed the channel (I found out a neighbor was using the same channel for his wireless) and it hasn't been better or worse. Is the router dying? Any other ideas?
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I had the same problem with two Linksys wireless router / ADSL modems, and after hours on the line with tech support, found that each was failing and could not be restored to health. Each had to be returned.

    So far, my Apple Extremes are working great, though I haven't had them for long.
     
  3. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #3
    I had the same problems with my Netgears, and they failed. I bought a Linksys WRT54G, and have had that for nearly two years now...never had to reboot it.
     
  4. ready2switch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #4
    Thanks for the quick answers!

    That's kind of what I was thinking about this one. In a way I'm happy, I've been thinking about getting the new Airport Extreme for the -n capability (for when I get my MBP) and to use for a print server. If this dying thing can just hold out for a few more months, then I'll be happy. :D
     
  5. talltree macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    #5
    I used to have similar problems, with two other manufacturer's routers. I'd lose my signal 4-7 times every day, and would have to restart (unplug/plug) the router. I started to presume it had something to do with my set up, or maybe my ISP. Finally, out of desperation, and after hearing a bunch of good things about Buffalo routers, so I purchased their latest one. That was 15 months ago. I haven't had to restart it once. This is a minor miracle to me.
     
  6. scan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #6
    i dont' know of a good home wireless router on the market today. everyone that I have I heard disconnects every once and awhile. The old Linksys WRT54G routers version 1-4 were supposedly the best and most reliable. I picked one up myself and I can say it has been very reliable.
     
  7. obrien234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton, MI
    #7
    I wouldn't suggest getting the Airport Extreme until Apple adds the 1000 Mps ethernet. It's a HUGE future hindrance.
     
  8. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #8
    Funny,

    Me and a friend had the same problem with a Belkin Wireless G router, I just got a Linksys WRT54GS and it's perfect.
     
  9. slazareth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    #9
    I have the EXACT same problem as the original poster right now and have found that many other people had the same problem with my router. I have the WRT54G v6 from Linksys and it worked great for probably 8 months and slowly the disconnects have become more frequent. I read on the linksys forums where some people were having problems and they said upgrading the firmware to linux should fix it. (I of course have already gone through two long tech support calls with linksys). So I did all the steps and got the upgrades in place. Everything was working fine, but a few hours later I have to reset again. :( So I'm now in the market for a new router. I guess I'll look into the buffalo ones.
     
  10. morgansh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #10
    i have the same problem. my macbook is real slow to find it. then it shows signal but no connection. i have to reboot the router and then everything is fine.
     

Share This Page