Contacts! Android to iPhone! How?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Fugue, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #1
    How would I move my contacts from my Droid to my iPhone? Would hate to manually add all 234 of them.

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #2
    Back up your contacts to your address book on your computer and the iPhone will automatically sync all your contacts.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #3
    I'm told you can import your gmail contacts to itunes which will be transferred to your iphone, a google search will quickly show you step by step instructions on how to do that.

    I've not tried it yet.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #4
    Well assuming you use gmail just set your iPhone up to hook into gmail exchange and boom all contact transfered.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
  6. macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #6
    ^^^^ this ^^^^
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #7
    would a restore from my older iphone also bring in my contacts & etc.

    (nojack)
     
  8. macrumors member

    trizzil

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #8
    go to gmail.com, go to contacts, select all, then export in vcard format onto desktop, load it in address book and sync it with itunes
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #9
    Second this. I used this method and it worked well, plus you can also get push gmail using this method instead of having the mail app poll every 15 mins.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    richard4339

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    I have a Mac and MobileMe; the Mac Address Book app will sync with Google contacts, just as an FYI.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #11
    My Droid X required me to have a gmail account so I'm assuming yours does to. Your droid and gmail should be sync'd. If they are, when you get your iphone, you can put your gmail information in and have your iphone sync to your contacts just like the droid does. No issue at all.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    DDustiNN

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #12
    This is the easiest and fastest method:

    1. Go to www.google.com/contacts and verify that all of your contacts are listed
    2. On your iPhone, go to Settings -> Mail and create a new Exchange account (NOT Gmail account)
    3. Use your full gmail address
    4. Use m.google.com for the domain
    5. Select what you want to sync (contacts, calendar, etc)
    6. Done!
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #13
    And your emails are pushed automatically to your device!
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #14
    Great info, thanks!
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #15
    As others are saying, I had all my contacts in my gmail account. I believe when I first plugged in my iPhone 4 to activate it I was automatically prompted to upload my gmail contacts
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Bswartz95

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #16
    Good info on the Google contacts. Seems easy.

    I'm assuming my Facebook friends who have phone numbers listed can also be synced and integrated into contacts like the Android app?
     
  17. macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    Device engineer 30+ yrs, touchscreens 24+.
    #17
    Google is universally useful. Almost every kind of phone syncs with their contacts, mail and calendars. (Google paid Microsoft for the right to rebrand ActiveSync as Google Sync.)

    You have to use a separate app. For example:

    http://www.maciverse.com/sync-your-facebook-friends-with-iphone-contacts.html
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    AuroraProject

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Right there
    #18
    Correct, in the Facebook app click on friends, then sync in the upper right hand corner.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    chrislaw

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    central ohio
    #19
    does anyone know what you put in the field for "server"?

    Edit: nevermind, I left domain blank and put m.google.com into the server field.
     

Share This Page