control+click not working

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dallasuo, Sep 23, 2005.

  1. dallasuo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    Canton, GA
    #1
    This is probly a simple fix but I am a newb. When I try to crtl+click anything on the desktop or in finder, all the icons and menu bar flash and it closes finder or returns to the main menu. I don't recall changing any settings recently so any help would be appreciated. It does this with the ibook's keyboard and trackpad as well as with the BT Key and ms.
     
  2. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #2
    I have occasionally experienced that the BT keyboard got stuck. Have you tried to shut down the BT keyboard (by flicking the switch underneath) and ctrl click with just the iBook keyboard?
     
  3. dallasuo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    Canton, GA
    #3
    Yeah. It doesn't work with either keyboard. I even turned the BT off and tried but nothing works.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    In your System Preferences, go to the Keyboard & Mouse section and in the last tab (Keyboard Shortcuts), click Restore Defaults. :)
     
  5. ammon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    Or you can try purchasing a new mac to see if it works. ;) J/K
     
  6. dallasuo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    Canton, GA
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Okay, maybe delete the Finder preferences then. Look for the file called com.apple.finder.plist and drag to the trash. :)
     
  8. dallasuo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    Canton, GA
  9. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #9
    You may want to peek in Library:Contextual Menu Items (these may be present both under your system volume and inside your user home folder) to see if there is anything new or unusual. Even if the plugins there look bland and normal, try moving them elsewhere for safekeeping, them logging out and back in. One may be defective or corrupt and getting in the way.
     
  10. dallasuo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    Canton, GA
    #10
    the only thing there is a suffit plugin. Would a clean install of tiger fix this?
     
  11. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #11
    You may also want to try downloading Onyx and running the maintenance items (repairing permissions, etc.).

    Sure, you can do many of them without Onyx, but it's a useful tool for a lot of things.
     
  12. dallasuo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    Canton, GA
    #12
    I ran all of the maint. stuff with onyx and still nothing.
     
  13. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #13
    Have you tried logging in as a different user to see if it happens there too? If not, then you might just need to recreate your admin user.

    Of course, it may just be easier to do a re-install of Tiger at that point.
     

Share This Page