Controlling G5 "Reduced Power" and "Automatic" in one click

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sososowhat, Oct 3, 2003.

  1. sososowhat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #1
    I switch to "Reduced Power" on my Dual G5 when I'm doing regular web surfing, editing, etc. to lower the fan noise. It becomes nearly silent, and I love it.

    I switch back to "Automatic" when I leave so it can Fold faster, and of course when I do more compute intensive work.

    Is there an easy way to create a "Power Switch" up in the bar at the top, next to my digital clock & speaker indicator? I'd like to be able to do this in just one click, rather than having to go to System Preferences every time.

    Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  2. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #2
    Re: Controlling G5 "Reduced Power" and "Automatic" in one click

    Not sure about the PowerMac, but PowerBooks have a battery/Energy saver menu icon next to the clock where you can click right to the energy saver to switch between the power modes easily. Perhaps you could enable that for the PowerMac, too, but I can't say how since I am still new to OS X.
     
  3. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #3
    -sososowhat

    Look for an item called "battery.menu" in <HD>/System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras

    It might be there even for a desktop machine.

    Double click it - new menu. Then you can do as Powerbook G5 says.

    Let us know what happens.
     
  4. sososowhat thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #4
    It's there, but...

    Battery menu is there in the system/Menu extras folder, but it doesn't seem to "do" anything, and I don't see any way to get it up in the menu bar. Beyond that, the help system says that you can monitor battery in the menu bar only on a laptop.

    Other ideas? Is this appescriptable? (not that I'd have any idea how to do that).
     
  5. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #5
    Re: It's there, but...

    I don't know, whenever I click on the folder of one of those menu extras, it automatically loads it into the menu bar. I am sure it is also applescriptable, but I have never done one, either, so the best suggestion I can give is to get a book on applescript, look on version tracker for one, or get a program like Quick Keys

    I hope that helps.
     
  6. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #6
    -sososowhat

    Ok, I just tried that on my QS, and yes, the battery.menu doesn't load. Perhaps because it needs that pesky battery hardware - damn Apple and their attention to detail! :D

    Well, back to square one!
     
  7. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #7
    No doubt in a month or two, some shareware developer will have this very thing. Just poke around versiontracker.com every once in a while...

    pnw
     
  8. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #8
    anyway to assign a hot key for these functions?
     

Share This Page