Convert AAC to MP3 to save space on iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by madbad01, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #1
    I have 1450 songs in my iTunes library, all of which are AAC (320kbps) encoded.
    I've run out of room on my 16GB iPhone 3G and I like to have all my music and a few videos on there.

    Would it be worth me converting my entire library to MP3 to save space on my iPhone as MP3s are about half the size of my AAC 320kbps?

    Thanks for your help! :)
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #2
    You don't want to transcode any lossy format.

    Even if you go 320kbps [lossy format] to 320kbs[lossy format] you will loose quality.

    Use the originals to do that. If you keep a lossless or uncompressed copy of it all, you will always have a good base to do everything you want as your needs changes. Choosing to store your music in a lossy format will lock you in to that format and that bitrate.

    Edit: Just in case you're confused: It doesn't matter what format it is (MP3, MP2, MP4 (AAC)) they're the same exact size unless you change the bitrate.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #3
    I'd just point out that a 128kbps AAC *will* sound better than a 128kbps MP3.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #4
    Noo! You don't say!?

    :p

    Yes, assuming it was encoded from uncompressed material and not from some lossy format to begin with. But you're right that all else equal, the logarithms used for MP4 is not as bad as MP3 in deciding which 10/11ths (@128kbps) to throw out.
    Anyway, his question was not about quality but about converting (transcoding) in order to save space. Quality is something that means naught to the OP, so point as much as you want ;)
     
  5. macrumors regular

    bengal85

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Itunes will convert AAC to MP3
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #6
    I thought MP3 took up more space than AAC at the same bit rates.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #7
    NOTHING takes up more space at a given bit rate. You see, space is a function of bit rate X time.

    A CD (which is defined as 16bit@44.1kHz) has a bit rate of 1440 kbps (notice the "per second"), an MP3, MP4, MP2, YNI ("You Name It") @ 128kbps is, funnily enough, running at 128kbps, or in other words: It's using 128,000 bits per second where an uncompressed CD is sending 1,440,000 bits per second. Bits=one information "bit".
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #8
    No need to be a dick about this. I was pointing out to the OP, who may or may not have known that MP3s are inferior to AACs encoded at the same bitrate.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #9
    I kno ... i didn t know that...
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #10
    I was under this impression as well...
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #11
    An MP3 of the equivalent 'sound quality' will take up more space than AAC.
     
  12. Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #12
    Man, I would just convert to 128 kbps AAC using itunes, as it will give you far better quality than a 128 kbps Mp3.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Great Lakes Region
    #13
    what about going from lossless to 266kbps ACC? i have some songs in lossless, but i want to free up some space.. would it be wiser just to reimport the music as ACC or can i just do the convert feature in itunes?
     
  14. Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #14
    You can convert in iTunes. Right click the song and choose convert.
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #15
    Yup, what he said. Although you have to set your "import" settings first. Remember to switch them back afterwards.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Galley

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #16
    Better yet, use an Apple Script, that will convert and export, and then return your encoder to its previous settings. :D
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Location:
    Great Lakes Region
    #17
    thanks a lot! :)
     

Share This Page