Convert Internal HD into an External HD?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by bigben85, Sep 3, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    #1
    I need an external drive but don't want to pay the proce for a 250 gb external drive. Is there any way to use an internal drive as an external one. Do they sell enclosures or transformers to allow usb or firewire cabels to connect drives to the computer?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    Lots of enclosures available. Just search for Firewire Enclosures and shop around. Be sure to get one with an Oxford 911 chipset. They seem to be the best type. And you may to make sure it can be bus-powered depending on how you are going to use it.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    #3
    Yes, just do a google search for "external ide enclosure". Theres thousands of options out there.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    dieselg4

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Location:
    Rockin' Pittsburgh!
    #4
    there are tons on eBay too, but shop around - sometimes used items go higher than they can be found online. alot of epople will buy them to transfer files from an old computer quickly, then hock it after their done.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Mr. G4

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    #5
    Just want to add that make sure that it accept drive bigger than 120GB incase you want to put one that is bigger than that.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    OWC has some good ones. You will porbably need an ata133 enclosure, FYI
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #7
    External Firewire drives rock, nothing better then giving an old drive new life;)
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    go to computergeeks.com and look around. sometimes you'll catch a midnight madness sale also and get a discount. hope it helps.
    phonemonkey
     

Share This Page