converting to different video formats

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by krossfyter, Feb 4, 2003.

1. krossfyter macrumors 601

krossfyter

aight guys... i made a video in iMovie (dont make fun of me because i used iMovie... all you pros!)

obviously i know how to get it to quicktime.... but i want to know how i can do other things with it.... heres what i want to do...

1) since the video is large i want to find out how i can further compress it (if possible)
    2) i want to be able to convert to be viewed by real player (if possible)
    3) i want to be able to convert it to be viewed by windows media (if possible)

thats it. just picking yalls brains... im new to this shizz.

2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

Why do you want to compress it and how much more do you want to compress it?

If you want to compress it for web delivery then QT pro might be able to help.

Lethal

3. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

One thing you might want to try is making it 15 frames a second instead of 30 - you really won't see that much difference, especially if you're viewing it on a computer, but it will chop the size of the file in half.

Good luck.

D

4. teabgs macrumors 68030

teabgs

http://www.discreet.com/products/cleaner/

Cleaner will do it all for ya man....however, it is not free....

So, if you dont have access to cleaner, um, I don't know. Check out versiontracker for some converters

5. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

I have cleaner, its pretty sweet, but its not perfect. After a few years of experience trying to convert movies from my Apple to a PC format (.avi, etc.) I've found the fastest and most reliable way to do it is get the .mov file on a pc and convert it there. I know that sucks, but like I said, I've had better luck with that, even with the software, than anything else.

Good luck,

D

6. King Cobra macrumors 603

>1) since the video is large i want to find out how i can further compress it (if possible)