Convince me to get a PowerBook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by gingi0, Oct 4, 2004.

1. gingi0 macrumors newbie

Hi.

I'm trying to find a good notebook to replace my old Dell Inspiron (that's falling apart) as my primary computer. Being a software engineer, I'm what you'd call a power-user, and I need a pretty hefty machine (at least 1G of RAM). I mostly develop Java applications. My wife, however, cares that the machine is user-friendly and easy to work with. Coming from a UNIX background, the PowerBook, with OS X, seems the perfect fit.

But I can't seem to convince the Mrs that these features are worth the extra 1000 greenbacks over a PC-based machine with similar specs. I tried telling her that it would increase productivity (she's a scientist, she wants proof). I even had to resort to statements like "It's really cool" and "everybody's got a PowerBook." But she just accuses me of being a big spender, and that I can achieve the same type of work with a PC.

Any advice on how I can sell the PowerBook idea to her?
    Thanks.

2. makisushi macrumors 6502

Stop your whining, and just go buy it.
    If it is for work, why isn't your company buying it?

3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

It's time for someone to show someone who wears the trousers in your household ;) :p

PUT YOUR FOOT DOWN MAN! :D

Could you tell us the PB you are looking at, and the wintel laptop that is $1000 cheaper that apparently is about the same spec (can't imagine it is though)?

4. AoWolf macrumors 6502a

AoWolf

Well OS x is unix based we but we know that. There was a macbytes story yesterday comparing macs and Pc that might be useful too. Tell her that there will be no viruses and you will get a better shelf life off the mac.

5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

jeremy.king

With exception on what software you are using (WSAD, Eclipse, JBuilder, NetBeans) , it really shoudn't matter what platform you develop your software on.