Cool site launch - Check it out

Discussion in 'Community' started by zoetropeuk, Apr 30, 2003.

  1. zoetropeuk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #1
  2. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    nice stuff!

    What'd you use to make the qtvr images?

    I noticed that the link for the pool didn't work, but the others seemed to be fine.

    Also, the first page is a little daunting - I'd soften it up there a bit and make that page an optional one for the user. Use a splash page with minimal info (that does all the checks) and then lets the user know if they can proceed. The imagery is quite nice, no need to not use it as much as possible.

    D
     
  3. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #3
    with hotspots!

    i could never get those to work in QTVR for OS 9
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    That is VERY nice, the QT walk through is great! EXCELLENT!
     
  5. Chad4Mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Good work!

    I too would love to learn how to make those QuickTime virtual tours...must be some kind of program out there that allows you to do this stuff.

    Great site, though, I tend to agree with dukestreet. Change the front page to a more simplistic, yet, energetic one and your are set!

    Man, I love those virtual tours!

    Chad4Mac
     
  6. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #6
    very nice.

    BTW, how did you work the 'you set connection speed to _____... etc' that works nice too.

    One slight slight bug I'm running Quicktime 6.2 and it says I'm running 6.11, but don't stress yourself if it is hard to explain.
     
  7. zoetropeuk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #7
    Yeah, that QT detect script is really cool. I actually was trying to do it myself using Livestage Pro but ended up buying the scripts from http://www.qtilities.com for about $10. Well worth the money.
     
  8. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #8
    (moved from MacScene to Community as this site is not Mac-specific)
     
  9. evoluzione macrumors 68010

    evoluzione

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    down the road, that's where i'll always be
    #9
    very nice indeed. wish i was still living in england with a gym like that.

    one thing, it's the first qtvr that made my eyes go funny, i think the distortion was more than usual with those things, but, that's just me being pedantic, i love it, very cool site!

    great stuff.
     
  10. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #10
    Left out again, running 9.1.1! :( It seems that I'm getting more and more prompting to upgrade! Just waiting on Steve!

    I like the use of blue! ;)
     
  11. zoetropeuk thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #11
    How are you left out ??? It should work fine on 8.6 and above !!!!
     
  12. MacFan25 macrumors 68000

    MacFan25

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    it looks nice! thats cool how it told what OS i was running! :D
     
  13. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #13
    oh well, I thought it would have been free, bah, I wouldn't use it that much.

    Thanks for the link anywhoo
     
  14. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #14
    When the display of a room first appears, I see the background grid, then a grayscale image which soon changes to color. I'm assuming that this is on purpose, to give me an image earlier than would be possible if it went straight to color. If so, it's a clever feature. I've never seen that in a Quicktime VR display before.
     
  15. AtariMan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Fairfield, Melbourne, Australia
    #15
    really nice work.

    i've done a few QTVR projects myself but all delivered on CD.

    the one thing i found confusing was the location buttons on the map. Those little grey circles. They work fine if you only used them as buttons but youve used them in the design of the "ground floor" "first floor" headings above the map. It leads the user to believe they can change floors by clicking on those non-buttons.

    id just remove them form the heading, or make them look less like the buttons (i think they are a bit smaller but its not enough)
     

Share This Page