Copy a HD?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by smada, Dec 26, 2003.

  1. smada macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    #1
    I just got a new Seagate Barracuda HD for christmas and im going to replace my old 60 GB Maxtor drive with it. Is there anyway that I can make an exact copy of my old hard drive on the new one, just with 60 GB of extra space?
     
  2. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
  3. smada thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    #3
    duff-man to the rescue again! thankyou thankyou thankyou
     
  4. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #4
    I gotta chime in. CCC is really handy. I used it to back up my home directory onto my iPod *and* to make my iPod bootable. It's slow, but kinda cool in a geeky way to be able to boot off your iPod. Since my music doesn't come close to filling up my 20GB iPod, it's not costing me any functionality.

    It can actually be useful if you're one of these people who needs to repartition your disk in order to install Linux or some other OS.
     
  5. smada thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    #5
    Woo it worked like a charm! copying some 40 GB of data took a while, but it did it. now i have an almost completely silent computer with plenty of space. the barracudas are apparently the quietest hard drives in the world.
     
  6. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    If you have Panther you can do it in Disk Utility.
     
  7. Plissken macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #7
    and do you know why you can do it with disk utility now?

    Because Apple smartly hired Mike Bombich, the creator of my savior program Carbon Copy Cloner.
     

Share This Page