Copy contents of DVD to hard-drive?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Versello, Mar 16, 2004.

  1. Versello macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #1
    How do I copy contents from a DVD media to my hard-drive? It seems like some data is hidden if I try opening finder and selecting all of it. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. HexMonkey Administrator

    HexMonkey

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Are you trying to copy the contents of a DVD to hard disk or trying to copy the contents of a DVD to hard disk so that you can play it without the DVD? If it's the latter case, I use a program called OSEx which creates a disk image of the DVD that can be mounted and played. You can get it here.
     
  3. briankonar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    #3
    0Sex is one method, I prefer DVD Backup as it creates a Video_TS folder which can be burnt to DVD (requires a few additional steps).

    Another is MacTheRipper, a GUI wrapper for DVD Backup. I have yet to see the merit in using MacTheRipper over DVD Backup.
     
  4. newt2mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    #4
    Once you have the Video_TS directory, which I have done, no problem, how do I go about burning it?
     
  5. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Make sure the video_ts folder will fit on a DVD-R (<4.7GB), then make an image of it and burn it in Disk Utility. That always works for me--and they play on set top boxes as well. A lot of people will suggest using Toast Titanium. That works too but it's an additional $99 and really isn't easier/better.
     
  6. newt2mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    #6
    How do you make an image of it?

    And what if it is > 4.7? I would need DVD2One right?
     
  7. krimson macrumors 65816

    krimson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Location:
    Democratic People's Republic of Kalifornia
    #7
    i use DVd2one when i need to

    but sometimes., when you just want the widescreen version, and the disc has both, you can just remove the aspect ratio you dont need.. though sometimes it doesn't work properly, in toast, i would drag the entire video_ts folder, THEN remove it from the list in toast, otherwise i causes my players to go on recursive loops, and plays the same thing over and over.
     
  8. parrothead macrumors 6502a

    parrothead

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    #8
    I highly recommend DVDBackup as well. I have used it since OSX.0 and it has never crashed or had any problems.
     
  9. briankonar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    #9
    burning Video_TS folders

    here are the tools i use to rip DVDs.

    step 1. DVDBackup (decrypt DVD to hard drive)

    step 2. DVDRemaster (compress DVD to < 4.7 GB, most DVD's only hold 4.2 when all is said and done, thus i set my target size to 4200)

    step 3. DVDImager (creates a burnable disk image, and removes all hidden files that will interfere with compatibility, drag new compressed Video_TS folder onto DVDImager, will create a disk image for you, NOTE: the disk image MUST contain all caps, no spaces i.e. LOTR_FELLOWSHIP_DISK_2)

    step 4. DiskUtility (select the Images menu, select burn, locate your Disk Image, insert media, burn disk).

    the only program you need to purchase is DVDRemaster (www.metakine.com) for approx. $40. I've used both DVD2OneX and DVDRemaster, and prefer Metakine's for it's simplicity, GUI, and the fact it's a native cocoa app (not windows port).

    DVDImager says it's for 10.2, but works fine on 10.3.

    i hope this has been helpful for you (took me several wasted coasters to figure out the hidden file problem).
     
  10. briankonar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    #10
    oops, my fault. sorry for double post.
     
  11. Versello thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #11
    It's not a movie that I'm trying to copy.

    Say for instance, I wanted to make a backup copy of iLife '04 DVD. If I just select the contents in the DVD, and copy it to my HD, the installation won't run properly. :(
     
  12. GigaWire macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    #12
    2 options:

    Ctrl + Click on it and select Copy. Then open your hard drive, select where you want to put it and Ctrl + Click Paste it.

    or

    open Disk Utility

    Choose the DVD

    Then click New Image

    Now type the name, choose the location, and change the IMAGE FORMAT to CD/DVD Master

    Then you're done. The Disk Utility method has worked best for me in backing up "Copy Protected" installation discs.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. fool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #13
    I would really like to understand this option to manually remove the aspect ratio I don't need, as 50$ US for s/w is a bit steep for me. Any one able to elaborate, and provide an example?
     
  14. sethypoo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #14
    I use a great program called HandBrake. I think I got it on Version Tracker. It even lets me edit the movies in iMovie or FCE.
     
  15. fool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #15
    MacTheRipper allows backing up only the main feature, or individual "title sets" or "titles"
     
  16. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #16
    I've never used DVD Backup, but I found that MacTheRipper can successfully rip the AC3 tracks from a DVD-A, whereas 0SEx corrupts them.
     
  17. fool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #17
    really is better

    As far as I can tell , I have discovered a reason why a product like Toast is better , protection from buffer underrun , and possibly a related reason is being able to choose the record speed.

    Not that I am using Yamaha , but none of the coditions described in this good FAQ http://www.yamaha.ca/computer/support/faq/t900.html apply to me .

    Of course , I would not be mentioning this if I had not just created a coaster because of this issue.
     

Share This Page