Copying CDs when using one drive?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by JSRockit, Jan 8, 2003.

  1. JSRockit macrumors 6502a

    JSRockit

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I'm used to having two drives when copying a disc. Now that I only have a laptop and I want to copy a disc...I don't know what to do. I am using Roxio's Toast 5 Titinaium. How do I do this? If I can't do this with toast, what application should I use?
     
  2. alex_ant macrumors 68020

    alex_ant

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Location:
    All up in your bidness
    #2
    I only know how to do it in Disk Copy:

    File -> New -> Image From Device (choose the CD-ROM)

    Then, when that's done, insert a blank CD and burn the .dmg you've just made:

    File -> Burn Image
     
  3. JSRockit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    JSRockit

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Is this the same on Easy CD Creator 5 on a PC? Sounds really damn easy.
     
  4. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #4
    You can use Toast just fine. Just insert the disk you want to copy, select Copy, and press Record. This will make a temporary copy of the CD to a cache in your hard drive. Wait for it to finish. After that is done it will eject the CD ask you to insert a blank CD. Insert the blank CD. Now wait a while again. Then it will ask you to verify or eject disc... just press eject, no need to verify.





    irmongoose
     
  5. JSRockit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    JSRockit

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    even better.
     
  6. JSRockit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    JSRockit

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
  7. gerror macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    It took some time to figure this out myself. When I sold my iMac 400 dv to buy a flatpanel, I kept my external cd writer. But now I don't use it anymore. Bummer.
     

Share This Page