Copying songs back to computer from iPod? do you lose quality?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by michael31986, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. michael31986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    when you copy songs back from your ipod to your computer do you lose quality AT ALL? also whats the best program to use to copy songs back to my computer?
     
  2. michael31986 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #3
    Ok that's good. Thought since it only copies the songs back that it loses quality.
     
  3. DaftUnion macrumors 6502a

    DaftUnion

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    What you're thinking of is if you make an audio cd (aka .wav files) from the mp3 files you have on your computer and then convert this back into mp3...that's where you lose a lot of quality.

    Copying mp3's directly from one place to another you don't lose anything at all:)
     
  4. michael31986 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #5
    thank you! so much. i guess i just got wondering since i thought copying a file is not good as cutting it. lol i probably make no sense. so Senuti is the best? i know music rescue copies your songs and the playlists, so you know what was in your playlists. that is very important to me.

    btw is their a way to make another library on same itunes?
     
  5. michael31986 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
  6. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    Yes, just hold down the Option key while opening iTunes. It will show a dialog box where you can select a library or create a new one. You will need to use the Option key when opening iTunes in the future if you want to open it with one of the different libraries you may have.
     
  7. michael31986 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
  8. Zonz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    #9
    alt key...

    but then again I dunno if it works the same way on a pc.
     
  9. michael31986 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #10
    What about program to copy songs? And playlists
     
  10. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #11
    Sorry about that. I just read that on the post before too :p . Anyway, you have to hold down the Shift key after clicking on the icon to open iTunes to get the library selection box to come up.
     
  11. michael31986 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #12
    so what program is best for copying? and i want to make sure my playlists are there too.
     

Share This Page