Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bleufire

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 28, 2007
I have been looking at getting a Mac for quite some time now. I have the funds and was looking at the new
Core 2 Duo Imac 20" with
2 gig ram
256 mb video
500 HDD

and lately i have been surfing on ebay for chucks and giggles and find alot of g5 Powermacs.
For Ex:
Apple PowerMac G5 - Dual 2ghz, 4 gb RAM 250gb
or
http://cgi.ebay.com/Apple-Power-Mac-G5-Dual-2-5-750-HD-2G-RAM-Manuals-DVDs_W0QQitemZ290110303532QQihZ019QQcategoryZ51036QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Which would be wiser? I would want to use Adobe CS3 on it but i am just starting out in school. they are roughly the same price if i went that route, i'm curious as to wether or not i would be kicking myself later on down the road for not having the core 2 duo and wishing i just got the Imac instead.

Any thoughts?

mopppish

macrumors 6502
Nov 27, 2005
From personal experience, I can say that a C2D at 2.16 or higher is roughly equivalent (and in some ways better than) a 2X2.0 G5.
That particular auction is confusing because it says 2.5 G5 in one place and 2.0 in another...
Anyway, if the price is the same, I would just take RAM into account. An imac goes to 3GB max. I would personally rather have the imac, but if you ever see yourself needing more than 3GB of RAM, then you'd have to consider the Powermac.

Mr. MacBook

macrumors 6502
Feb 28, 2007
iMac for sure. At least get a machine SOMEWHAT future proof, 3GB ram it, 500GB HD it, 256mb X1600 it, and make it the best, but it'll be better than Power Mac G5 in everything.

IEatApples

macrumors 6502a
Jan 26, 2004
Northern Hemisphere (Norway)
I have the iMac you mention, and it's great! :)

And, if the choice is between a PowerMac G5 & the C2D iMac, then you should go with the iMac, no question! :cool:

But, if you can, I think you should wait until June! ;)

QCassidy352

macrumors G5
Mar 20, 2003