Core Duo 2 HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MRU, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  2. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
  3. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    The E6600 is a Conroe you need to get a Merom if you want to do a drop in replacement with the Yonah in your iMac.
     
  4. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  5. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Merom has model numbers starting with T (T7400 - 2.16 GHz, T7600 - 2.33 GHz are the ones you really want), Conroe has model numbers starting with E or X for the Extreme Edition.
     
  6. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  7. bluetorch18 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #8
    This is probably a stupid question, but is there a way to upgrade the GPU in the iMac?
     
  8. AvSRoCkCO1067 macrumors 65816

    AvSRoCkCO1067

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    CO
    #9
    Nope :(
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    You can in the Intel iMac. You'll have to take it apart though and majorly void your warranty though. There's a socket inside that can have the CPU replaced.
     
  10. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    doh! cpu and gpu misread i'm guessing :p
     
  11. AvSRoCkCO1067 macrumors 65816

    AvSRoCkCO1067

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    CO
    #12
    Yeah - you can replace the CPU, but the poster was referring to the GPU (graphics card), which is soldered to the motherboard.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    I see that now. Sorry, that bugger is soldered on. Only an entire logic board replacement can solve that.
     

Share This Page