Core Image question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Daily, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. Daily macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #1
    Does Core Image speed up the OS at all?
    I'm planning on getting a Mac mini shortly but I stumbled on a post that states that even the updated minis(64meg 9200s) don't support core image.
    Can I live without Core Image or is it really that big of a deal?
     
  2. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #2
    Depends on what you do. If you do a lot of graphics work, it might hurt you in the long run. If you're just surfing the net and doing everyday stuff, you'll be fine. You probably won't get the ripple effect in Dashboard. That's about it.
     
  3. jim. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    C-ville, VA
    #3
    Right now, nothing big really uses the full CI API for graphics work. It is just sprinkled here and there as eyecandy and extraneous 3D effects. As of this moment you won't be missing anything. Of course if you want to do heavy graphics work and the real stuff for which CI was designed, then you really shouldn't be buying a mini in the first place.

    Jim
     
  4. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #4
    Basically what core image's purpose is to take the burden off the processor and put the graphics things as the job of the video card. But if you have Tiger installed on a computer that doesn't support it, then it just puts the burden back on the CPU like it used to, but like others said, you won't get some of the special effects thats built into OS X, and other OS X apps (droplet effect in Keynote for example).

    The MacMini is for regular computer users who just want to browse the internet, check email, chat, use Office (or iWork), etc, but nothing huge like Photoshop, or FCP. So for normal usage, it won't be a problem at all.
     
  5. bitfactory macrumors 6502

    bitfactory

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #5
    Here's a Core Image question - is there anyway to do the 'flip' effect outside of dashboard? I've d/led a few Core Image programs, but they were just the basic filters.

    Anyone know?
     

Share This Page