Correct memory upgrade?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hoochrulez55, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    ontario canada
    #1
    I will be replacing the memory myself via apples guide to installing memory. I am doubling my macbooks current 2X1GB, to 2X2GB. The memory im looking at purchasing is in the link that follows, and i would need 2 chips of 2GB RAM each. Is this the right memory for my machine? My specs are in the other link below. Thanks in advance, Hooch.

    Memory in question: http://www.memorydepot.com/SOD1066NS3C72GBN.htm

    My specs: http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-13-polycarbonate-unibody-mid-2010-specs.html
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Yes, that is the correct memory, but since only one 2 GB module costs that much, you can get 8 GB (two 4 GB modules) for less than the two 2 GB modules via the shop you linked to.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    ontario canada
    #3
    i thought 8 was too much. 4 is max.:confused:
    i dont want to mess up my machine.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    You linked to the specs of your machine, and as you can see there, the maximum RAM it supports is 8 GB.

    And if you only want to go to 4 GB, best to buy a kit of two 2 GB sticks.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    ontario canada
    #5
    okay so its best if i order 2X4GB right?:apple:

    ----------

    and for the small amount of money to upgrade to max, i might as well:cool:

    ----------

    so this kit should do the trick?

    http://www.memorydepot.com/MICRONSOD8G8500KIT.htm
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Yes, choose one of the kits I linked to. Crucial, GSkill and Corsair and almost any other kit is more than okay. Kingston too. Just get one with a good warranty.

    ----------

    Probably, but is 20 USD more expensive.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    ontario canada
    #7
    im in Canada so it doesnt matter much the dollar is so close lol

    ----------

    ill probably go with the Mircon. it has lifetime warranty:D
     

Share This Page