could someone explain this whole machine id thing, plz?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by ShadowHunter, Jan 14, 2004.

  1. ShadowHunter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno
    #1
    could someone explain this whole machine id thing, plz?
     
  2. idkew macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #2
    the machine id (aka Gestalt ID) is used by apple and other companies to check and see if a certain piece of software can run on your machine. it has also been used to limit a piece of software to one or few machines which fit specific ids.

    if you are having problems running software do to your gestalt id, google "mac gestalt id change" and you should be able to find what you are looking for.
     
  3. jbeetz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    #3
    Shadow... The id appears to be for multiproc machines. Each physical computer (box) is supposed to have it's own unique download of the fah software so the servers can keep things straight, however multiproc machines are supposed to "copy" the software to another folder, thus the apparent need to identify them by machine name.

    The following is on the Standford FAQ page.

    "Does Folding@home run on dual processor machines?

    Yes, you can. Additional processors must run the console version (with the "-local" command-line argument if run on Windows). First, make additional directories for each processor and copy the FAH3Console executable file into each. Then configure them with the -config switch, filling in settings for each. It is very important to make sure that under the "Advanced Settings" option each copy is given a unique machine ID (from 1 to 4). The first copy will default to a machine ID of 1, so additional copies should be given IDs of 2, 3 and 4. Each may then be run out of their installed directory, using the -local switch on windows. Instances should be attached to different processors, using whatever mechanism your OS provides for this purpose (e.g. Task Manager on Windows).

    We have been working on a multiple processor version with parallelized code using OpenMP. However, we have discovered that OpenMP parallelized code does not scale very well at all with processor number with our code. So we are investigating other options for parallelization, and a final date for a parallelized version is uncertain at this time."
     
  4. ShadowHunter thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno
    #4
    Ok, thanks jbeetz. So I don't need to worry about the machine id on my training lab? I can just copy the client to each computer, and run it?
     
  5. kettle macrumors 65816

    kettle

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
    #5
    The serial number in the about this mac box or the Gestalt No.?

    edit. there weren't any posts a minute ago, I got held up because I wasn't sure of the Gestalt spelling. he he sorry
     
  6. jbeetz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    #6
    Uhmmm... mc68k or one of the other lab folks can confirm this, I think you'll be ok if you copy the disk image from computer to computer and then set each one up individually. Of course, all your machines will fold under your name and our team. Just to be "very" safe, I've redownloaded the clients to each machine I've got running--probably unnecessary, but they all work!
     
  7. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #7
    I wish I could run F@H @work :D
    But our IT department shut everything so shut with their firewall, even Itunes can't even connect to the internet (no more webradio or store..), though I can get on internet with my browser... F@H can't connect to the Stanford server, no matter what I try :(
     

Share This Page