Could This Be A G5 Hint?

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by madamimadam, Jan 22, 2002.

  1. madamimadam macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #1
    I was searching through Motorola's web site and came across:
    http://e-www.motorola.com/webapp/sp...?code=MPC8540&nodeId=03M943030450467M0yqX0l0H

    The 85xx processor is the G5 (right?) so, from the looks of this, they have already started marketing a version of the G5 at ranges of 600MHz - 1GHz AND it uses that DDR RAM everyone has been wanting (maybe not as fast as we would like but I was not saying this is the one that will be in the PowerMacs).

    I would IMAGINE that Apple would hold out for 1GHz+ versions of this chip before adding to the Powermac (if they are not already in production) but we can hope for at least the board behind that processor to start us off on the Apollos with DDR.
     
  2. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #2
    horray its 64bit
    but whats apple gonna do about it
    is it backwards comaptible 64bit an 32bit apps
    the DDR ram is a blessing
    but when will we see one
     
  3. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #3
    check out the PDFs at the bottom they explain alot
     
  4. madamimadam thread starter macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #4
    I did see SOMEWHERE that it is going to be backward compatible. I don't think they could really bring out another generation 32-Bit, though, they would just be left too far behind.

    Interesting, though, that routers and so forth can get the G5 with DDR before a desktop computer can..... go figure.
     
  5. kaneda macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    #5
    600mhz -1 ghz?

    600mhz to 1 ghz? man!! they are going backward and forward at the sametime...they are going backward faster than forward though...

    G5 Powermac 600 mhz...who is going to buy it? that is like back another two years...HOOORRAAAAAYYYY
     
  6. Kid Red macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    #6
    I know I would buy a 1.0ghz G5 with DDR, faster bus, new case, gigawire, rapidIO, and all that good stuff :)
     
  7. madamimadam thread starter macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #7
    Re: 600mhz -1 ghz?

    You have to remember that that chip has been designed for routers and communication devices.... the apple release would HAVE to be faster with better specs
     
  8. Bartman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    #8
    Re: 600mhz -1 ghz?

    This is an imperfect analogy, but...

    Which provides more horse power? A V6 rev'ing at 10,000 RPMs or a V12 rev'ing at 6,000 RPMs? The V12, even though is it "running" slower.

    Mhz matters when comparing very similar chips, the G4 and the G5 are simply not THAT similar. A 600 Mhz G5 will very likely out perform a 1 Ghz G4 and give you change.
     
  9. DarkNovaMatter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    #9
    HURRRAH!

    Not bad, not bad at all. I was fearing that the DDR would only be 133, but when I noticed it was 333 mhz (DAMN!). Whats also nice about it, is its Ebook architecture. This means if IBM can get an Altivec clone or something then IBM can make these things! Okay had enough excitement for one day!
     
  10. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
  11. Crotalus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    #11
    Ha Ha Ha Ha

    Are you guys for real? "Who's gonna buy a 600" ME! And i'll spank yer doubting asses with it. A 600mhz 64-bit processor would be vicious! And with Altivec? Jesus H Christ. What more could you ask? It would turn the northwood into driftwood.

    BUT

    Has anybody even heard that Apple is gonna put it in a desktop? I haven't seen ANYTHING concrete yet. This is ALOT of specialized power, even for pro users. Plus if they couldn't make it backwards compatable then it would be the biggest software alienation in history. I see this thing going to special use for a long time. My theory is, if you don't have enough power then a beowulf cluster would be yer best solution. If yer that awed by a 2.2 gig P4 then for god's sake shut up and buy one. If not... then use yer Mac and smile like me. I like my G4 400 just fine. If it had DDR RAM and more cache and a nice SCSI raid with some 15k Cheetahs I'd be set for about five more years : )
     
  12. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #12
    DDR

    Ok, I have one for you all... and correct me if I mess this one up.

    Memory type has very little to do with the processor and much, much more to do with the motherboard design. Take for example the pc (ducking) world. There are many motherboards out for both the AMD and intel processors. While many do use DDR memory, because of the speed, not all do. There are other chips (on the motherboard) that have more influence on the memory that is used.

    To my knowledge, there are three DDR memory speeds at present.. PC1600, PC 2100 (same as the 1600, but used in a 266 bus, not a 200), and now PC2700 (might also be a 2400 not sure on that). The only problems being that the motherboard has to support it since the memory has a different pin arrangement (two sets of pins instead of the three that are on PC100/133).

    Judging by how Apple usually uses the fastest technology that they can get their hands on (they were the first to use the 12Mb USB) I would suspect that they will use the PC2700 variant. Memory pricing between the DDR types are pretty much the same (identical if not very close). Just as between PC100 and PC133.

    As with most people here, I will be waiting to see what Apple releases for their towers next. Then I get to see if I can afford to buy one or how long will I need to wait to get one.
     

Share This Page